Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 35
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    23
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Windows Defender Offline

    Awhile back I had a virus infection on my desktop which deleted a whole bunch of dll files on Windows 7, (my OS). I tried to go to my wife's laptop and download and install WDO to see if it would fix the problem. I had problems creating a WDO bootable on my flash drive... anyway, long story short, I wound up taking my computer to a local shop where they proclaimed the best solution was to reload Windows (they saved all of my important data, so I was just out the money to pay them and a bunch of time to rebuild the computer and put back all of my preferences, etc...

    The reason for this thread is this: I have now created a WDO flash drive for the next emergency (hopefully it won't happen, but good to be prepared).

    Should I run WDO on my computer to see what it will pick up, if anything? Is there any particular reason that I SHOULDN'T run it unless a problem is known or suspected? - - in other words, is there any likelihood that running WDO would have any kind of negative effect?

    Another question: I tried to run WDO the other day, or at least see if I could, and something about my computer does not allow the WDO flash drive to boot ahead of Windows. I have tried to press F2, F8, F10 buttons while restarting, but none of them interrupts the Windows start up.
    Can anyone tell me how to (if necessary) reconfigure my computer to, when restarted with the WDO flash drive inserted, it will boot?

    I have a HP Compaq Presario desktop running Windows 7 (64 bit). I am currently running Malwarebytes Pro as an antivirus program.

    Thanks for any help

  2. #2
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    2,379
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 238 Times in 190 Posts
    You need to get into the BIOS to edit the boot order. Try the "Del" key, or F12 during boot. Once you get into the BIOS, set your boot order so that the hard drive is second or third (mine is set to boot CD/DVD first, USB second, and hard drive third.

    I have WDO on a CD. It will go online automatically to update the virus definitions, and load them into a RAM drive, then run a Scan.

    And no, you won't cause any harm by running it whenever you feel like it.
    Last edited by bbearren; 2013-05-06 at 15:41.
    Create a new drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "Let them that don't want it have memories of not gettin' any." "Gratitude is riches and complaint is poverty and the worst I ever had was wonderful." Brother Dave Gardner "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else." Sir Thomas Robert Deware. "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Do you understand?" Captain Jack Sparrow.
    Unleash Windows

  3. #3
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    6,194
    Thanks
    201
    Thanked 785 Times in 719 Posts
    Terry,

    No reason at all not to run it you never know! I don't know about HP computers but on all my Dell computers I have to tap the F12 key when booting to get the advanced boot menu. This menu lets me choose what device to boot from, i.e. Hard drive, CD/DVD, or USB drive. Check your documentation for the appropriate key. HTH

    PS. Please note it's a good idea to update the WDO disk/usb key every 2 weeks as you want new definitions if you ever need it. Also you have to create it on a computer of the same Bitness as your computer. If you try to run the 64 bit version on a 32 bit computer it won't fly.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    VBA Rules!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs


  4. #4
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    2,379
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 238 Times in 190 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RetiredGeek View Post
    PS. Please note it's a good idea to update the WDO disk/usb key every 2 weeks as you want new definitions if you ever need it. Also you have to create it on a computer of the same Bitness as your computer. If you try to run the 64 bit version on a 32 bit computer it won't fly.
    I run mine from a CD and it goes online to download the latest definitions before it starts a scan. It sets up a RAM drive and runs from there.

    (Of course, if you're machine is not connected, that wouldn't work.)
    Create a new drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "Let them that don't want it have memories of not gettin' any." "Gratitude is riches and complaint is poverty and the worst I ever had was wonderful." Brother Dave Gardner "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else." Sir Thomas Robert Deware. "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Do you understand?" Captain Jack Sparrow.
    Unleash Windows

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    23
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    The reason that I decided to set up WDO on a flash drive vs a CD is that the flash drive can update the definitions, the CD, being non-rewritable, cannot.

    I am a little hesitant to tinker with my BIOS and alter its settings... would prefer to figure out a way to make my flash drive boot ahead of Windows. I have tried all of the function keys, and tried repeatedly pressing DEL as well. I have been able to interrupt the Window startup by pressing DEL repeatedly, but I do not get a DOS screen, the monitor stays black.

    I'll continue to try to figure it out... as they say, Google is your friend...

  6. #6
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    2,379
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 238 Times in 190 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by TerryR40 View Post
    The reason that I decided to set up WDO on a flash drive vs a CD is that the flash drive can update the definitions, the CD, being non-rewritable, cannot.
    Terry, you're not reading my post. Even though WDO boots from a CD, Windows Defender Offline will go online to get the latest definitions. When you boot from the CD, WDO sets up a RAM drive, connects directly to Microsoft, downloads the latest definition file, and then presents the Scan dialog box. You can choose what type of scan you want to do, and it will be done using the latest definitions.

    The definitions don't get written to the CD, they get written to the RAM drive, and run from there. It runs from a RAM drive as an extra precaution to protect your system - Windows is not active while WDO runs from the RAM drive.
    Last edited by bbearren; 2013-05-06 at 18:34.
    Create a new drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "Let them that don't want it have memories of not gettin' any." "Gratitude is riches and complaint is poverty and the worst I ever had was wonderful." Brother Dave Gardner "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else." Sir Thomas Robert Deware. "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Do you understand?" Captain Jack Sparrow.
    Unleash Windows

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    23
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    You are right, I was skimming over that fact. But wouldn't I be encountering the same problem making a CD with WDO on it boot as I am running into with the flash drive?

    My BIOS is not preventing the launch of WDO, since I can put a movie DVD in my drive and the movie launches.

    I would have thought that when I successfully created my WDO media, that it would have launched automatically, instead of having to interrupt Windows loading.

  8. #8
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    6,194
    Thanks
    201
    Thanked 785 Times in 719 Posts
    Bruce,

    I like to update the USB because when I get to the point of using WDO I usually disconnect the pc from the internet as a precaution. YMMV
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    VBA Rules!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs


  9. #9
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    2,379
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 238 Times in 190 Posts
    Hi Bruce,

    When booting WDO, Windows is dead. WDO builds a RAM drive system, and that is the only thing running. The only way that the hard drive(s) can be accessed is through the WDO RAM drive. WDO makes only a secure connection to the Microsoft server (ftp, most likely) for the definition update, and then closes that connection, and presents the Scan GUI.

    I've run it twice; first just to make sure it would work if I needed it, and then again to watch what it was doing closely, as the first run caught me by surprise at the sophistication. All in all, it's a pretty nifty piece of software.
    Create a new drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "Let them that don't want it have memories of not gettin' any." "Gratitude is riches and complaint is poverty and the worst I ever had was wonderful." Brother Dave Gardner "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else." Sir Thomas Robert Deware. "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Do you understand?" Captain Jack Sparrow.
    Unleash Windows

  10. #10
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    2,379
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 238 Times in 190 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by TerryR40 View Post
    My BIOS is not preventing the launch of WDO, since I can put a movie DVD in my drive and the movie launches.

    I would have thought that when I successfully created my WDO media, that it would have launched automatically, instead of having to interrupt Windows loading.
    Terry, your BIOS is preventing the launch of WDO, as it doesn't have USB ahead of the hard drive in the boot order. The movie plays from the DVD because Windows is playing it; you're not booting into a movie.

    The "Offline" part of the name, Windows Defender Offline, means that Windows is offline, not necessarily that the computer is offline. In other words, you are not booted into Windows, Windows is dead, and any nasties that might otherwise be able to hide from AV/AM are also dead, and their tricks don't work.

    The only way you can run WDO is to boot the WDO media. It won't run with Windows running. You have to reboot with the WDO media in the correct position in the BIOS boot order in order for WDO to do its thing.
    Create a new drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "Let them that don't want it have memories of not gettin' any." "Gratitude is riches and complaint is poverty and the worst I ever had was wonderful." Brother Dave Gardner "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else." Sir Thomas Robert Deware. "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Do you understand?" Captain Jack Sparrow.
    Unleash Windows

  11. #11
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    6,194
    Thanks
    201
    Thanked 785 Times in 719 Posts
    Bruce,

    Thanks, I didn't know about the inner workings of WDO only that it worked pretty well until I came up against the FBI virus on my cousins machine. It said it had killed it but must have missed something because it came right back. Only failure I've had with it.

    BTW: MS Updates the WDO engine and you have to refresh your media to get those updates to the best of my knowledge. I remember when I used to run it from a CD-R disk and it would complain about not being able to update so I switched to the USB version and darned, if I remember correctly, I got that same message another time after that...and yes I was connected to the internet when those happened just routing usage not any infections known.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    VBA Rules!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs


  12. #12
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Surrey, UK
    Posts
    32
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by TerryR40 View Post
    I have a HP Compaq Presario desktop running Windows 7 (64 bit). I am currently running Malwarebytes Pro as an antivirus program.
    A quick Google suggests the BIOS can be invoked with F1 or F10 or perhaps CTRL-Alt_Esc - it all depends on the model. Let us know which Presario it is. Info at http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/document?cc=uk&lc=en&dlc=en&docname=bph07110#N244 suggests it might be F10, but hit repeatedly.

  13. #13
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    23
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    My Presario is CQ5210F PC.

    I have tried all of the function keys with no success at getting a popup box that will allow me to resequence the BIOS.

    BTW, is there an option to backup the BIOS before making any changes?

  14. #14
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Surrey, UK
    Posts
    32
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
    A Google search on "Presario CQ5210F" finds http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/d...name=c01859813 as the second hit, and following the Motherboard M2N68-LA link I find under 'clearing the BIOS settings' an item called 'Clearing the BIOS password', where it says to hold down the F10 key while booting, to get into the BIOS setup. That doesn't seem to match anything else I read before I found it!

    Hope that helps!

    I don't know of any way to back up the settings (unless the setup screen itself reveals one), but wouldn't worry - if all else fails, resetting it to the initial defaults (clearing the CMOS memory - see further up the page on the last link above) should allow the fundamentals to work. You can't really do any damage changing the boot priority, and noting down all the settings would be a chore. There is probably an HP instruction guide on BIOS settings on the web somewhere.

    I just noticed that the link in my first reply contains some info, and sems to be fairly recent - you will have to establish your BIOS version (<=6 or >=7)
    Last edited by mngerhold; 2013-05-09 at 12:42.

  15. #15
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    WA
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RetiredGeek View Post
    Bruce,

    Thanks, I didn't know about the inner workings of WDO only that it worked pretty well until I came up against the FBI virus on my cousins machine. It said it had killed it but must have missed something because it came right back. Only failure I've had with it.

    BTW: MS Updates the WDO engine and you have to refresh your media to get those updates to the best of my knowledge. I remember when I used to run it from a CD-R disk and it would complain about not being able to update so I switched to the USB version and darned, if I remember correctly, I got that same message another time after that...and yes I was connected to the internet when those happened just routing usage not any infections known.
    Two things: The flashdrive will not be updated with new definitions as it cannot be written to at that point. It is best to recreate the bootable flashdrive or CD on a non-infected machine just before running it on an infected machine. When it is recreated the definitions will be updated and you don't need to be online. The other thing (FBI virus), I booted from WDO and made a note of the files it said were part of the FBI virus. I then booted with UBUNTU live. Once there I went to the files identified earlier. I discovered them all in a nice little folder on the hardrive. I deleted the folder - bingo - virus gone. Actually since I had never done this before I just renamed the folder first and rebooted with Windows to see if that worked. It did, so then I deleted the FBI folder.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •