Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Trenton, FL
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Question How do I get a toolbar to reappear on the desktop on Windows 7?

    There was a "toolbar" that appeared on the top of my desktop when I moved the mouse across the middle of the screen. It had shortcuts to IE, Office programs(Publisher, Word, Excel and Powerpoint) and 2-3 other programs. I don't know what I did but it had disappeared. Can anyone tell me how to get it back. If I wanted to use Word, all I had to do was put the mouse at the top of the middle of the screen, the bar appeared, I put the mouse over the folder for Office then clicked on the program I needed. Any help is greatly appreciated!

  2. #2
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    2,335
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 267 Times in 260 Posts
    Sounds like a dock or something similar. Go through all your program items and see if anything rings a bell, possibly from the manufacturer or you computer as a value add utility. For example I think Dell Dock comes with many Dell computers.

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to F.U.N. downtown For This Useful Post:

    pengesser (2013-05-09)

  4. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    S.F. Bay Area, California, USA
    Posts
    735
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 80 Times in 78 Posts
    ??Objectdock??

    Zig

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to Zig For This Useful Post:

    pengesser (2013-05-09)

  6. #4
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    Posts
    274
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
    RocketDock?

    Chris

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to ChrisJakarta For This Useful Post:

    pengesser (2013-05-09)

  8. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    103
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
    and HP has a variation, HPDock.

    They almost all say DOCK in the name somewhere, so you shouldn't have much confusion upon looking.

    Has any tidying up been done on your computer lately? If you attempted to remove 'bloat' from your computer, you may have inadvertedly removed it (especially if it was branded with the manufacturer's info).

    I see people all the time indiscriminately removing all branded software off their machines, without realizing SOME of it is required, or greatly appreciated by some users.

    HPCoolSense is a perfect example... if your machine already has it, leave it alone. it is a pain to install manually, and provides better fan control (from what I've read).

    I've been on HP for 10 years, also got a few Dells... Gateway... Compaq... there's almost always at least one 'bloat' app that isn't bloat, IMHO.

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to Ben09880 For This Useful Post:

    pengesser (2013-05-09)

  10. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Trenton, FL
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks for all the input. It was the Dell Dock that I had disabled. Working great now!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •