Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    48
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    WiFi says connected, but can't access Internet

    I'm writing about a recurring problem with my HP Folio 13. The wifi shows I am connected to a network I know is functioning (from other computers on it) but trying to access the internet in chrome or firefox produces error messages.

    I have upgraded the drivers and bios but this has no effect on the problem. I have rebooted the computer, ditto. The only thing I've found to work is doing a System Restore, but it has gotten to the point where I am doing at least one restore a day. Clearly, this isn't sustainable, and is causing me to hate this little laptop which initially I fell in love with!

    Clearly there is a software problem, but I have no idea where. Any suggestions gratefully received.

    Joe

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Are you using the same restore point? Does the problem show up again, even with no changes to the operating system?
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  3. #3
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    48
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rui

    Thanks for getting back to me. No, I'm not using the same restore points. Lately, because I've been restoring so much, I've found the latest restore points don't work and I'm having to go back to April. As far as I can see there's no direct connection between the updates that load following the restore, and losing the internet. (But that doesn't mean there isn't.) But in fact, the problem goes back at least a month, though it's become much more persistent in the last 2 weeks.

    Joe

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Joe, it would seem to me that you are adding an update that is causing it. Why do you think there is no direct connection between the updates and the problem?
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  5. #5
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,191
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 984 Times in 914 Posts
    You need to do a little fault finding for us.

    1. Start > Run > cmd
    2. ipconfig /all
    3. Post the results of the command and we will do the next bit. (To copy the text right click in the window and select "Mark". Left click and drag to select all the text. Right click to copy.)

    cheers, Paul

  6. #6
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    48
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rui

    You may be right. I've disabled automatic updates and if we don't lose the internet over the next couple of days, that will be strongly indicative it is an update. I'll then add them a couple at a time...

    Joe

  7. #7
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    48
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Paul

    Thanks for replying. I'll do this as soon as I lose the internet again. Which probably won't be long!

    Joe

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Joefried View Post
    Rui

    You may be right. I've disabled automatic updates and if we don't lose the internet over the next couple of days, that will be strongly indicative it is an update. I'll then add them a couple at a time...

    Joe
    Looks like a plan . Please do let us know how it goes.
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  9. #9
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    48
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Paul

    I don't think it can be an update because I've blocked all the updates since I last did System Restore.

    Here's the ipconfig results. Any thoughts?

    Many thanks,

    Joe


    \Users\Julie Barber>ipconfig/all

    ndows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : JulieBarber-HP
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    hernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : B4-99-BA-F7-C2-B6
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    hernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Bluetooth Personal Area Network
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 7C-E9-D3-CB-3F-26
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    reless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 4313GN 802.11b/g/n 1x1 Wi-Fi Ada
    er
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : C0-18-85-07-B3-40
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::28e7:2dc3:4c59:1fb2%11(Preferred)
    Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.254.31.178(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 247470213
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-16-EB-DB-B5-C0-18-85-07-B3-40

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    nnel adapter isatap.{CD688FFD-AD2F-4F56-919D-EE53DF74FBF3}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    nnel adapter isatap.{C3735717-6AAF-4EEB-A49D-180855A1690D}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    nnel adapter isatap.{98B7ECE3-CE0F-4C8E-B585-731628ADA866}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #3
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    nnel adapter Local Area Connection* 12:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft 6to4 Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    nnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    \Users\Julie Barber>

  10. #10
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    48
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Paul and Rui

    Following someone else's suggestion, I deleted the wireless network I was connected to, and then reconnected. This seemed to work. Does that give any more clue was to what's wrong?

    Joe

  11. #11
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Well, if it worked, let's just hope it keeps working .
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  12. #12
    4 Star Lounger SpywareDr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Riviera Beach, Maryland, USA
    Posts
    490
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 52 Times in 43 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Joefried View Post

    reless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.254.31.178
    When a Windows computer is configured to get an IP address from a DHCP server but is then unable to connect to one, Windows will automatically assign it an IP address of 169.x.x.x. This provides a usable ip address so you can connect to local computers, printers, etc., without any user intervention.

    (The Internet Assigned Numbers Authority (IANA) reserved the IP addresses 169.254.0.0 through 169.254.255.255 for automatic private IP addressing).

  13. #13
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    103
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
    I don't know if this is affecting you, but I occasionally have to re-associate with an access point (make my laptop connect to a known WiFi spot as if it is the first time it ever has).

    In my experience, I've tracked my problems down to the fact I have a hi-gain antennae. Until I tell it what to connect to, it won't increase the signal. This only happens once in a while, but more frequently when I have Bluetooth accessories activated and wireless peripherals.

    So it just might have nothing to do with software on your machine... you may have the same bug as me... just reset the wifi adapter in the computer. If that fails, next remove your trusted network from the connect automatically list. Reset wifi adapter in the computer again, and then manually attempt to reconnect. I occasionally have to try 2-3 times, and once in a while I have to reset the wifi router.

    Not to insult anyone, but if Windows offers to inspect the problem, let it. Sometimes Windows will actually have something good to suggest. But not every time, IMHO. And I've been told it is smarter in new versions, in my experience, it is quite a bit better in 7 versus Vista or XP.

    Hope this post helps someone,

    Ben

  14. #14
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    48
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Ben

    When I did the Microsoft error check, it did suggest rebooting the access point. But as I knew that another computer connected to the same network was working fine, I didn't think that could be the problem.

    Re the post about the IANA, I'm not sure I understand this. Does the fact that this came up mean the computer wasn't able to find a proper network to connect to and so created a private network IP?

    Joe

  15. #15
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Joefried View Post

    Re the post about the IANA, I'm not sure I understand this. Does the fact that this came up mean the computer wasn't able to find a proper network to connect to and so created a private network IP?

    Joe
    Yes, when the adapter cannot obtain an IP, Windows assigns it one of those IPs.
    Rui
    -------
    R4

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •