Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    126
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Telnet server configuration

    Hi

    I have activated the Microsoft Telnet Server on Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit and I configured with NTLM authentication.

    Now, with a computer with XP Pro SP3, I have written from the pompt command:

    Code:
    telnet <host name>
    but instead of asking the Login, this message appears:

    Code:
    Microsoft Telnet Client
    
    The escape character is 'Ctrl ++'
    
    
    You are sending information to a remote computer in the Internet Zone. This may not be secure. Send it anyway? (y/n) y
    
    
    Telnet server could not log you in using NTLM authentication.
    Your password may have expired.
    Login using your username and password
    
    
    Telnet Server is configured to use NTLM authentication only.
    Contact your administrator to enable username/password authentication.
    
    Telnet Server has closed the connection
    
    
    Connection to host lost.
    How come? How should I do to make sure that the Login is displayed?

    Thanks

    Bye

  2. #2
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    3,760
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 424 Times in 338 Posts
    Have you tried it without requiring NTLM Authentication?

    I have limited experience with Telnet (I used to have to use it to configure a DSL modem before they all transitioned to HTML configuration) but I never had to configure the authentication. The target put up the login request whenever telnet contact was initiated.
    Create a fresh drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Savvy?"—Captain Jack Sparrow "When you're troubleshooting, start with the simple and proceed to the complex."—M.O. Johns "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else."—Sir Thomas Robert Deware.
    Unleash Windows

  3. #3
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,191
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 985 Times in 915 Posts
    I suspect your user account on the XP box is not valid for the W7 machine. You must have an account on the W7 box with appropriate access for the things you want to access via telnet.

    p.s what are you trying to do with telnet? It's old and insecure and we wouldn't normally use it in a live environment.

    cheers, Paul

  4. #4
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    126
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul T View Post
    I suspect your user account on the XP box is not valid for the W7 machine. You must have an account on the W7 box with appropriate access for the things you want to access via telnet.

    p.s what are you trying to do with telnet? It's old and insecure and we wouldn't normally use it in a live environment.

    cheers, Paul
    The only thing that comes to mind is that the accounts of the two computers are different. So, how do I display the Telnet Login?

    The telnet connection serves as emergency connection and, therefore, the Telnet server must always be active and must have the NTLM authentication to have a minimum of security.

    Thanks

    Bye

  5. #5
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,191
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 985 Times in 915 Posts
    Telnet doesn't have a login, it uses the underlying Windows user ID.

    I'd use puTTY and SSH instead of telnet.

    cheers, Paul

  6. #6
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    126
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul T View Post
    Telnet doesn't have a login, it uses the underlying Windows user ID.

    I'd use puTTY and SSH instead of telnet.

    cheers, Paul
    So, how do I say to the Telnet server that the IDs of the users of the XP computer have the credentials to log on to Windows 7.

    Thanks

    Bye

  7. #7
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,191
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 985 Times in 915 Posts
    I suspect you need to create those users on the Win7 PC and use the same password. In a domain this wouldn't be an issue, in a stand-alone / workgroup environment you will have great difficulty.

    cheers, Paul

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •