Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    97
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Mistaken error message "FF needs manual updating"

    I run Firefox with automatic updating (today it's v. 20.0.1), which works fine.

    Every morning, about 1/2 hour after I boot, an error message pops up saying something like "FF couldn't update properly. Use manual update." Any way to stop this? I don't think it's a virus, since there's no link to a probably infected site.

  2. Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!

    Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    6,058
    Thanks
    196
    Thanked 766 Times in 700 Posts
    Have you tried completely uninstalling FF with something like Revo Uninstaller or just a normal uninstall and then run CCleaner.
    Then download a completely fresh version to reinstall from? HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    VBA Rules!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs


  4. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    97
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    RG - Yes, twice with Uninstall and CCleaner. Is there a free version of Revo Uninstaller? Will it delete my Boomarks?

  5. #4
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    6,058
    Thanks
    196
    Thanked 766 Times in 700 Posts
    Yes there is a free version of Revo Uninstaller but it will only work on 32 bit programs. Note that is programs not OSes it works just fine on 64 bit Windows but only on 32 bit programs, i.e. those located in Program Files (x86). I would use a program like Xmarks to backup & also sync your bookmarks prior to this operation for insurance.
    HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    VBA Rules!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs


Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •