Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Question Re-installing/re-activating IE10

    Hi all.

    IE 10 on Windows 8 wasn't working correctly for me (loading but failing to display the home page within 2-3 mins at least) so I removed/de-activated it. I thought I'd simply de-activated it via the 'Turn Windows features on and off' option.

    When I try to reverse this by ticking the box, nothing happens.

    If I lok in the programs and IE directory, there's no IE10 etc .exe. There is an ieinstal.exe file but it does nothing, even when run in admin mode.

    How can I get a working version of IE 10 back please?

    Thanks in advance,

    Nigel

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Have you tried to download the standalone version of IE 10?
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    4,746
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 649 Times in 572 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Medico View Post
    Have you tried to download the standalone version of IE 10?
    Does any version there install on Windows 8?

    (They won't on mine.)


    Quote Originally Posted by Daynig View Post
    How can I get a working version of IE 10 back please?
    Try Control Panel, Internet Options, Advanced, Reset Internet Explorer Settings.


    Bruce
    Last edited by BruceR; 2013-05-15 at 16:13.

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks, but I can only see download options for Windows 7

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks Bruce.

    I don't have and 'reset IE settings' options at all. No mention of IE under Internet.

  6. #6
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Fishkill, New York, USA
    Posts
    435
    Thanks
    96
    Thanked 35 Times in 31 Posts

    IE-Reset

    Quote Originally Posted by BruceR View Post
    Try Control Panel, Internet Options, Advanced, Reset Internet Explorer Settings.
    Bruce
    IE-Reset.JPG

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •