Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Windows 8 Store

  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Missoula MT
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Windows 8 Store

    When I try to open the Store in Windows 8 I get the following message: Something has happened and cannot open Windows Store, please restart, or refresh your computer.
    I have tried all of the fixes listed in Microsoft data base none of them work. So please help. Also Netflix refuses to work either. Their support staff cannot offer me any help on this matter.
    Lloyd0r

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,792
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    Did you try the Windows app troubleshooter? Link is at the bottom of this page:
    http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/w...t-problems-app

    Jerry

  3. #3
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    3,760
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 424 Times in 338 Posts
    Did you do a refresh? Charms Bar > Settings > Change PC Settings > General > Refresh your PC without affecting your files.
    Create a fresh drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Savvy?"—Captain Jack Sparrow "When you're troubleshooting, start with the simple and proceed to the complex."—M.O. Johns "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else."—Sir Thomas Robert Deware.
    Unleash Windows

  4. #4
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,792
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bbearren View Post
    Did you do a refresh? Charms Bar > Settings > Change PC Settings > General > Refresh your PC without affecting your files.
    Refresh will wipe your Desktop programs though.
    http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/w...fresh-reset-pc

    Jerry

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    In the early days, we used to see this failure fairly often. Quite often these were caused by improper installations. They also has some roots in the Store not really working as expected. These problems seem to have been corrected.

    @lloyd04, I guess my questions would be how did you get Win 8? What version of Win 8? Was this an update or an installation on new hardware. If an update where did you get the ISO file?
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  6. #6
    WS Lounge VIP mrjimphelps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,396
    Thanks
    445
    Thanked 404 Times in 376 Posts
    Do you have a local or a Microsoft account? I have a local account and I can't do much when I'm in the store. My guess is that it is because I have a local account.

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Missoula MT
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I bought Win8 on the first offering of 39.00. It is Window 8 Professional. I reinstalled it to another partition and it works fine, but on my main os it refuses to work. It opens the store,but when I try to open a group it advises me there has been an error, either reboot or refresh. I have tried both without any joy.

  8. #8
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,792
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mrjimphelps View Post
    Do you have a local or a Microsoft account? I have a local account and I can't do much when I'm in the store. My guess is that it is because I have a local account.
    You need to have a Microsoft account to use the Store but you don't have to log into Windows 8 with it. I log in to Windows 8 locally and have no issues with the Store. If you log in locally, the Store should prompt you for a Microsoft Account log in the first time.

    Jerry

  9. #9
    WS Lounge VIP mrjimphelps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,396
    Thanks
    445
    Thanked 404 Times in 376 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jwitalka View Post
    You need to have a Microsoft account to use the Store but you don't have to log into Windows 8 with it. I log in to Windows 8 locally and have no issues with the Store. If you log in locally, the Store should prompt you for a Microsoft Account log in the first time.

    Jerry
    Have you observed any cloud-like activity in Windows 8 since logging into the Store with your Microsoft account?

  10. #10
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,792
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    The only "cloud" activity I've seen is when I use the Microsoft game collection. Individual games don't start until I automatically log in to Xbox live which can be a little bit of a pain but tolerable. There's no automatic synching to Skydrive though. I can still manually upload to Skydrive when I feel the need.

    Jerry

  11. #11
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    The $39 offer was for an Update Version. Did you replace a qualifying OS with Win 8? If not perhaps this is also causing some problems. It most likely is related to the local account versus MS account issue previously mentioned, but the Upgrade issue could also be causing problems. Does the System screen (CP, System) show the Win 8 OS as activated?
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •