Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    242
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Macrium Reflect Standard problems

    Help please. Have just tried to create a rescue media disc in macrium. When I try to create the disc, the disc is just ejected with the message as per
    attachment. This happens with both the Windows PE and Linux.


    [ATTACH=CONFIG]35235[/ATTACH
    Macrium 2Untitled.png
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    6,166
    Thanks
    200
    Thanked 781 Times in 715 Posts
    Dave,

    Have you checked the write capability of your drive with other software, e.g. Windows Explorer?
    Do you have the latest drivers for your CD/DVD or BluRay drive?
    Have you tried rebooting Windows and then attempting it again?

    Post back with results/answers. HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    VBA Rules!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs


  3. #3
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    2,106
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 241 Times in 234 Posts
    Is there any way to export the rescue media as an ISO or does Macrium have to do the dirty work?

  4. #4
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    5,434
    Thanks
    128
    Thanked 495 Times in 455 Posts
    There is also an option to create USB based boot disk:
    Macrium Reflect USB Rescue Options
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Windows 8.1, 64 bit
    Motherboard: DX58SO2*Chipset: X58 Express/Intel ICH10*BIOS: SOX5820J.86A.0888.2012.0129.2203*Processor: Intel Core i7 CPU X 990
    GPU: Nvidia GTX 580*Memory: Corsair 12 GB, 4x3@1600*PSU: Corsair HX1000*Hard drives: REVO X2 160GB*OCZ VERT X3 120GB*5 mechanical storage drives (12 TB) total.

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to CLiNT For This Useful Post:

    DaveBRenn (2013-05-18)

  6. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    242
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hi RG, thanks.
    Write capability with Windows Explorer is OK.
    CD/DVD drivers are up to date.
    I did reboot and still the same. After trying different discs, CD-R, CD-RW,DVD-RW, I then tried a DVD-RW6X Re-recordable 120min and it worked?
    I then rebooted and tried again and it worked fine. Have no idea why this is. If I create ISO file and save, then I can burn from this, but I want the disc to burn straight off.

    Regards
    Dave

  7. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    242
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Yes can create ISO file and burn form that.

  8. #7
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    242
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I have installed Macrium Reflect Standard. I was also running Windows 7 backup but suddenly get an error 0x80070002 System cannot find file specified.
    There is no indication of what this file is.
    My question please, will this Windows backup error have any effect on the Macrium backups?
    Thanks
    Dave

  9. #8
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,203
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 212 Times in 199 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DaveBRenn View Post
    I was also running Windows 7 backup but suddenly get an error 0x80070002 System cannot find file specified.
    There is no indication of what this file is.
    My question please, will this Windows backup error have any effect on the Macrium backups?
    Hi Dave,
    Hello... The error code seems to to do with Windows Updates ...See This... Macrium should not be bothered with "windows backup" I have both Macrium Reflect and Acronis True Image 2010 , as well as the "Windows Flavor" ( which i never use as it's both a "clumsy" and a "clunky" program in comparison... They all play "nice" with each other never had any conflicts with hundreds of Images.... Regards Fred
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  10. #9
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    242
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks Fred. I will go with Macrium. I was just worried the problem with the W7 would somehow influence Macrium.
    Thankfully you have put me at ease. I just wanted to sort out the W7 backup but it seems its something that can't be solved.

  11. #10
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    WA
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I installed Macrium on my Win7 machine and when I did it made a boot entry whereupon booting my computer I am given a choice to boot into Macrium or boot into Windows. If I am going to run a backup I always boot into Macrium or use the Rescue boot disk. I never run Macrium from Windows. The reason for that is I don't have any problems that way.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •