Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Sheffield, Yorkshire
    Posts
    951
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Saving a mail merge.

    Because we have to use small envelopes, which Office doesn't recognize, I am having to create labels. I have to send test bars out regularly, and this information needs to be on the envelope. I have created a mail merge for data in an Access database, which gives me just the records I need, but this changes from day to day. What I don't know is, how to save the template, with the mail merge set up, so I don't have to create it again later. The data is from a table in Access, which is created by a 'make table' query, which I run to print the required labels. So, one day I could be printing say record 5554 to 5558, and the next day 5559 to 5565.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
    Posts
    5,054
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 417 Times in 346 Posts
    Hi robm,

    You should save the mailmerge main document without any filtering. Instead, add a field to it (before the first data field) coded as follows:
    {SKIPIF{={IF{MERGEFIELD LblID \# 0}<{FILLIN "First label to include." \o} 1 0}*{IF{MERGEFIELD LblID \# 0}>{FILLIN "Last label to include." \o} 1 0}}= 1}
    where LblID is the label ID field's name.

    Note: The field brace pairs (ie '{ }') for the above example are created in the body of the document via Ctrl-F9 (Cmd-F9 on a Mac) - you can't simply type them or copy & paste them from this message.

    With the above field, you'll be prompted for the first and last label #s each time you do a merge.
    Cheers,

    Paul Edstein
    [MS MVP - Word]

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Sheffield, Yorkshire
    Posts
    951
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks macropod. I'm getting it half right. It doesn't ask me the first and last label when I run the merge, but if I right click on the field, and select 'update field', it then asks me for the first label, and then the last label. I typed it in exactly as you, replacing LbllD with Serial_No, which is the field containing required labels.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
    Posts
    5,054
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 417 Times in 346 Posts
    Are you sure all the field brace pairs (ie '{ }') for the above example are created in the body of the document via Ctrl-F9?
    Cheers,

    Paul Edstein
    [MS MVP - Word]

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Sheffield, Yorkshire
    Posts
    951
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Yes. Should this be populated into the other labels? Do spaces matter in your example?

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
    Posts
    5,054
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 417 Times in 346 Posts
    Some of the spaces are critical and, without them, the fields won't work. Having more spaces won't hurt, though.
    Cheers,

    Paul Edstein
    [MS MVP - Word]

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Sheffield, Yorkshire
    Posts
    951
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    In my labels, I want Serial No, HT Release, Test Piece ID, Test Type. Do these need to be added in the brace pairs, or should they work if they are added after? I put the code in as you explained, but it doesn't seem to be working. When I link it to the database table, it first says Serial_No isn't a valid field name, but changing it to Serial No, doesn't work either.

  8. #8
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
    Posts
    5,054
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 417 Times in 346 Posts
    There is only one field you should be testing in the SKIPIF field - whatever field it is that has the label IDs. As I don't have access to your data, I can't tell you what the correct field name is.
    Cheers,

    Paul Edstein
    [MS MVP - Word]

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •