Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    129
    Thanks
    30
    Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts

    Microsoft updates again?

    So I have several Windows 7 64-bit systems here at home. Strange thing the other day, one of the computers had updates. When I checked they were NET Framework 4.0 updates. I checked the logs and the ones that are showing up show that those were installed before. I also checked my other computers and all my other computers have the same updates, but are not indicating they need updates.

    I click the "Check for updates" just to make sure and they keep popping up. I also did this to my other systems, but again, they indicate no updates. So just the one is saying it needs updates.

    So not sure why my only single computer is showing updates it already has installed. Could there be a problem with that one system that I need to fix or just reinstall those updates?

    Thanks
    "Every Thing Changes but Change Itself"

    [Core I7 6700][Asus Maximus VIII Hero][8GB G.Skill memory][Asus GTX 980Ti Strix][1 x 512GB Samsung 950 Pro][850W Seasonic PSU][Antec 900][Windows 10 Professional, 64-bit][2 x Asus PG278Q]

    [Core I5 2500k][Asus P8P67 Pro (ver 3.1)][8GB Corsair memory][Asus ENGT430][1 x 90GB Corsair GT SSD][650W Corsair PSU][Thermaltake DH-202][Windows 7 Home, 64-bit][65" Panasonic Plasma T.V.]

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    I would first try to reinstall the update and see what happens. These updates are required for specific apps. Various apps require different versions of Net Framework. Are all the apps on the various PCs all at the same level of updates? Are the various systems a mixture of 32 Bit and/or 64 Bit? It sounds like there might be something very specific to just this PC!
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to Medico For This Useful Post:

    swatbat2142 (2013-05-23)

  4. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    129
    Thanks
    30
    Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
    They are all 64-bit. All have the same updates.

    Wife just told me she installed a new game just recently. Probably the cause, but I am at a loss that installing a new game would 'push' for the same updates to install again. Thank you for your response.

  5. #4
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,792
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    The .net updates have been problematical. In some cases, the only solution to constant installs of the same update is to uninstall and re-install .net.

    Jerry

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to jwitalka For This Useful Post:

    swatbat2142 (2013-05-23)

  7. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    129
    Thanks
    30
    Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
    Okay, will do.

  8. #6
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    99
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 18 Times in 17 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by swatbat2142 View Post
    They are all 64-bit. All have the same updates.

    Wife just told me she installed a new game just recently. Probably the cause, but I am at a loss that installing a new game would 'push' for the same updates to install again. Thank you for your response.
    I've seen Broderbund software that installs its required .NET over top of existing (patched) .NET. That REALLY screws up Windows update.
    If your wife's game did something like that, Jerry's suggestion to remove and re-install .NET is your only recourse.

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to riffraff For This Useful Post:

    swatbat2142 (2013-05-24)

  10. #7
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    129
    Thanks
    30
    Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
    Will do this, much cleaner. Have not gotten to it, fixing my window regulator to my truck, but the weekend is near. Thanks again everyone
    "Every Thing Changes but Change Itself"

    [Core I7 6700][Asus Maximus VIII Hero][8GB G.Skill memory][Asus GTX 980Ti Strix][1 x 512GB Samsung 950 Pro][850W Seasonic PSU][Antec 900][Windows 10 Professional, 64-bit][2 x Asus PG278Q]

    [Core I5 2500k][Asus P8P67 Pro (ver 3.1)][8GB Corsair memory][Asus ENGT430][1 x 90GB Corsair GT SSD][650W Corsair PSU][Thermaltake DH-202][Windows 7 Home, 64-bit][65" Panasonic Plasma T.V.]

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •