Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    1,418
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Interactive Table of Contents

    Is there a way to make a table of contents "interactive" such by clicking on the page numbers, word will take me to that page or section?
    Thanks in advance.
    Jeff

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
    Posts
    5,054
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 417 Times in 346 Posts
    Hi Jeff,

    You can add the \h switch to the TOC field. To do this, select the entire TOC and press Shift-F9. You should see something like: {TOC \o "1-3" \u }. Simply add the \h to the end, thus: {TOC \o "1-3" \u \h} then press F9 to update the field.
    Cheers,

    Paul Edstein
    [MS MVP - Word]

  3. #3
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    1,418
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks Paul. Unfortunately, when I highlight the TOC and press Shift-F9, I get this: {TOC \o \h\ \z \u}. When I add the \h at the end, the TOC disappears. Any ideas?

    P.S.: Posted also on Eileen's Lounge.
    Last edited by jlkirk; 2013-05-28 at 14:38.

  4. #4
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Maryland, USA
    Posts
    690
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 66 Times in 56 Posts
    By default, Word's TOC entries are "interactive", as the \h already in your field code shows. Since W2003, though, we've had to press Ctrl+Click to go to the target. If you only want to click the hyperlink, change the setting in Word Options.
    Pam Caswell

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
    Posts
    5,054
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 417 Times in 346 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jlkirk View Post
    Thanks Paul. Unfortunately, when I highlight the TOC and press Shift-F9, I get this: {TOC \o \h\ \z \u}. When I add the \h at the end, the TOC disappears. Any ideas?
    Your TOC already has an \h switch, so:
    • you don't need another one; and
    • it is already 'interactive' (i.e. functions as a hyperlink).
    As Pam says, the default is for Ctrl-Click to follow any kind of hyperlink, though there's a Word option to allow you to simply click on one.
    Cheers,

    Paul Edstein
    [MS MVP - Word]

  6. #6
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    1,418
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks again Paul

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •