Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    wifi and boilers don't mix . . .

    situation: apartment with cable internet access, wifi router, unable to access from workshop

    workshop, separate building, about 300 feet away to outside shop door
    it is possible to put the cable modem/wireless router in a apartment window with line of sight location to an outside door.
    wifi signal from apartment at "full strength" per the notebook at the outside door area.

    problem: old buildings, brick&steel frame structures, added bonus: shop sits behind two huge decommissioned coal boilers - wi-fi signals don't get through.
    I tested a Hawking "extender" - semi-works in the immediate area of the boilers but doesn't extend through the boilers....

    question: is there a weather proof 'doohickie' we can mount outside the door and bring internet wifi signal from apartment combo modem/wireless router signal inside the shop via ethernet cable?
    distance outside door to shop office area about 50 feet. need not be wireless inside the shop - we can operate with plugging in ethernet to desktop.

    stumbled onto the "bridge" idea - does one need two "bridge gadgets" then more hardware inside to get to a ethenet plug?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,434
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Tom,

    Welcome to the lounge as a new poster!

    You might want to look at the solution I use for traveling in my motorhome. The signal in most campgrounds is really lousy unless you are right on top of the router they are using. I use a modified router that uses a high gain antenna and then rebroadcasts the signal inside my motorhome. Here's a link to the manufacture's site. HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  3. #3
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,414
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts
    If the two locations are on the same electrical meter circuit, you could try using two "HomePlugs" (US - PowerLine), to transfer the ethernet over the power cable.

    You use a patch cable to connect the router to the first plugged-in HomePlug, and at the far end you connect the patch cable from the second plugged-in HomePlug to the laptop (or whatever).

    Here's a longer writeup. Also read the inevitable Wikipedia article.
    Last edited by BATcher; 2013-05-27 at 15:25.
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    RG - thanks for the lead on the jefatech - that has a number of features/option that look to solve the problem. most useful may be the ethernet plugs on the base unit.

    what gain option did you select for your antenna?

    wireless is really iffy in the building if the AP is not essentially in the same room. one of the (engineering firm) tennets went bonkers trying to get & keep coverage - they finally hauled in a contractor and hard wired all the workstations with extra cables hither, thither & yon for plugging in laptops, etc. we do aluminum fab work - bank of welders, big motors, metal structures moving about, raw metal inventory piled up, going down . . . that may make our iffy bit even iffier - but with both wireless and hard wire, we can experiment.

    BATcher - this is part light industrial park, different building, feeds, meters, etc. so that won't work in this situation.

    it may be a while until I get this resolved - I'm not constantly on-site, but I'll post up the outcome.

    appreciate the input!

  5. #5
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,434
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Tom,

    I got the base package {router, cable, antenna $149.00} works great in the RV I mount the Antenna on a painters pole outside the RV run the coax in through the storage compartments and connect to the router mounted on the side of the sink cabinet in the galley. Both my wife and I can run our laptops, kindles, and phones, and a wireless HP printer off the signal inside the RV. But, yes the 4 Ethernet ports on the unit can also be used for hardwired connections.

    P.S. You can pictures of the setup here.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Another possible solution similar to RG's setup is the WiFi Ranger for RVs.

    If you use the optional power kit to power the WiFi Mobile antenna/router you can add a home router through Ethernet to the Mobile antenna.

    I actually use the WiFI Ranger Mobile and Go RV Pack in my RV.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •