New Lounger

MS Access 2010 Runtime Error 3020 - Combo box & master/subform

I am new at VBA/MS Access programming. I have a problem that is intermittent. Background: I have a main form that will display the data based on another forms selections of combo boxes. Please note: all combo boxes are unbound. -- This code was written by someone else.

I select a client number, client name comes up in a text box, then I need to select an Agreement. Once the Agreement is selected, I have to select the Occurrences for this Agreement (but if I make a wrong decision and change it to another Agreement before or without selecting an Occurrence, I do *not* get an error). Then I click a cmd button to update the sub form. It works beautifully – no problems…

Because there may be many Occurrences (one for each month dating back to the year 2004~ which can get kind of long to find the Occurrence you need) , I added another unbound combo box for the year() of the Occurrences to the form. This populates via code from the afterUpdate on the Agreement combo box. I select it. Then I select the Occurrences, then the cmd button to update sub form. Everything works.

All is well. But….

Now if I do the same process again (starting from the beginning)… however; this time I select a year, and do NOT select an Occurrence, BUT change the year again (for example: say I selected 2012, but realized that I needed 2011, so select the year 2011 from the combobox). I then get a 3020 runtime error on the AfterUpdate on the combo box stored proc.

All the code is the same as the previous code, except I moved it down for the new combo box.

Basically this is the Orig code:
    1a) Select Client Number, which queries the clientID, and Selects the Client Name
    2a) Select Agreement to load Occurrences
    3a) Select Occurrences to display in form.

Basically this is the New code:
    1b) Select Client Number, which queries the clientID, and Selects the Client Name (SAME as orig code)