Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Silver Lounger t8ntlikly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Chandler, AZ
    Posts
    1,978
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 11 Times in 9 Posts

    IE can't connect

    My son just did an update to Adobe Reader, and now Internet Explorer cannot connect? At first I thought maybe something with the wireless internet connection, but that was working ok. I uninstalled the entire Adobe Reader, but no joy. I brought up C-Cleaner to run it. When I did, it connected to their web site with no problems. I was at that point able to download and install the Firefox browser that he can at least use for now.
    One thing I noticed, was that on his wireless connection it shows the SSID and then the #2 after it. There is no #2? I deleted and redid that connection but it still shows the same. Like I said though I was and am able to connect to the internet through all of his programs, and through firefox. I haven't even tried SkyDrive yet. oops! nor his school homework site. I imagine that site should be ok, but Im not sure what SkyDrive will show.

    Ideas about I.E. 10 anyone? Can I uninstall and reinstall?

    Thanks

    John
    Thanks John
    Teamwork is essential; it gives the enemy other people to shoot at. (Murphy's War Laws #39)

  2. Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!

    Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    10,192
    Thanks
    129
    Thanked 1,142 Times in 1,052 Posts
    You can uninstall and reinstall, yes.
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  4. #3
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,520
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 222 Times in 210 Posts
    You can check the proxy settings in IE or Control Panel. Make sure they are set to "Automatically detect".

    cheers, Paul

  5. #4
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,426
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 212 Times in 180 Posts
    Hi John. have you tried this:-

    RR.jpg
    Click image to enlarge it.
    George's PC Specs. / Laptop. Desktop.

  6. #5
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 929 Times in 851 Posts
    John,

    I might consider a different PDF Reader. There are several excellent readers available with not nearly the security risks of Adobe and far less resource hogging.

    I use PDF-Xchange Viewer. Others have written about Foxit Reader and Nitro PDF Reader
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  7. #6
    Silver Lounger t8ntlikly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Chandler, AZ
    Posts
    1,978
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 11 Times in 9 Posts
    Thanks guys I will give these all a shot, before I uninstall and then reinstall.

    John
    Thanks John
    Teamwork is essential; it gives the enemy other people to shoot at. (Murphy's War Laws #39)

  8. #7
    Silver Lounger mrjimphelps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,137
    Thanks
    202
    Thanked 206 Times in 198 Posts
    John:

    I have seen at least one case where IE somehow gets hosed (or hijacked), and you then have problems browsing to certain web sites. (You can get to some, but not others.)

    Other browsers work, just not IE.

    I've never seen a solution; my solution was to wipe the drive and start over, as the user didn't have anything that he needed on the drive, and just in case there was malware on the drive that I couldn't remove or detect.

    Everything worked fine after that. Months later, everything is still working fine.

    The user had no antivirus software installed; I installed MSE. That is one reason I suspect malware.

  9. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    John,

    You said that you could connect to the CCleaner web site, and you downloaded Firefox. If IE couldn't connect, how did you do that? Also, what version of Windows is on the computer?

    Jim

  10. #9
    Silver Lounger t8ntlikly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Chandler, AZ
    Posts
    1,978
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 11 Times in 9 Posts
    To be honest, I'm not sure WTH was going on. Ccleaner connected, so I went ahead and downloaded Firefox so I could get on line. I then ran the updated version of Ccleaner. All is well now however and FF has been removed.
    Thanks John
    Teamwork is essential; it gives the enemy other people to shoot at. (Murphy's War Laws #39)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •