Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Google Earth

  1. #1
    Silver Lounger Banyarola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Big Indian, New York
    Posts
    1,900
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 65 Times in 54 Posts

    Google Earth

    I un-installed JAVA a while back..

    I would like to use Google Earth...
    Can I use Google Earth without having Java installed ???

    Thanks
    "If You Are Reading This In English, Thank A VET"

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    4,748
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 649 Times in 572 Posts
    Yes.

    Bruce

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger Banyarola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Big Indian, New York
    Posts
    1,900
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 65 Times in 54 Posts
    That's what I thought...

    There's a website I wanted to use that requires Google Earth...

    It asks me to install the Google Earth Java Plug in...

    I thought the plug in would require re-installing Java.
    "If You Are Reading This In English, Thank A VET"

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    4,748
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 649 Times in 572 Posts
    Are you sure that's not the Google Earth Javascript Plug-in?

    Google Earth Plug-in

    What is the Google Earth Browser Plug-in?

    Bruce

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger Banyarola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Big Indian, New York
    Posts
    1,900
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 65 Times in 54 Posts
    Here's a screen shot...
    Attached Images Attached Images
    "If You Are Reading This In English, Thank A VET"

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    4,748
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 649 Times in 572 Posts
    Doesn't say Java though.

    Bruce

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger Banyarola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Big Indian, New York
    Posts
    1,900
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 65 Times in 54 Posts
    I think you are right..

    When I look more at it, it mentions a JavaScript if I want to use it on a website...

    I had it once before but must have un-installed it...

    I get confused sometimes with this stuff...

    Thanks..
    "If You Are Reading This In English, Thank A VET"

  8. #8
    Super Moderator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    4,490
    Thanks
    284
    Thanked 576 Times in 479 Posts
    The Google Earth browser plugin is independant of the desktop software; note that it doesn't work in a 64-bit browser.

  9. #9
    Silver Lounger Banyarola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Big Indian, New York
    Posts
    1,900
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 65 Times in 54 Posts
    I just found out it doesn't work in 64 bit..
    I was going nuts trying to figure out why it didn't work...

    I'll use it in my 32 bit XP..

    Thanks...
    "If You Are Reading This In English, Thank A VET"

  10. #10
    Super Moderator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    4,490
    Thanks
    284
    Thanked 576 Times in 479 Posts
    It works fine on Windows x64, just not in 64-bit browsers as they haven't released a 64-bit plugin for it.

  11. #11
    Silver Lounger Banyarola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Big Indian, New York
    Posts
    1,900
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 65 Times in 54 Posts
    I know what you meant...
    I just replied wrong...
    I meant to say I am using IE 10 64 bit in windows 7..
    "If You Are Reading This In English, Thank A VET"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •