Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Bismarck, ND, USA
    Posts
    451
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Switchboard generates Access.exe error (AccXP and 2000)

    We have a small database with a switchboard. It was created in XP, but XP is set to save in Access 2000 format, as not all of our users have XP.

    When the database is opened in Access 2000 clicking on any of the options on the switchboard generates the following error:

    <hr>MSAccess.exe has generated errors and will be closed by Windows. You will need to restart the program.
    An error log has been created.<hr>
    Number 1, I don't know where to look at the error log to see if it will shed some light
    Number 2, I haven't any idea as to what to do next. The objects in the database all work. Could I just rebuild the switchboard from the computer running Access 2000?

    TIA
    egghead

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,623
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 60 Times in 60 Posts

    Re: Switchboard generates Access.exe error (AccXP and 2000)

    By chance are you running both XP and 2000 on the same PC? If so there are documented problems with that configuration - see <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.wopr.com/cgi-bin/w3t/showflat.pl?Cat=&Board=off&Number=90700&page=1&vie w=collapsed&sb=5&o=0&fpart=>Charlotte's post</A> on those kind of problems.

    Presuming that's not the case, you should look for any missing references (thought that should not cause a crash in Access), and you might want to compact and repair the database after decompiling it. I've not seen that behavior in a database but I don't believe I have actually created a switchboard in 2002 and then tried to use it in 2000. If you resolve the problem, please post the resolution so the rest of us know about it. Thanks.
    Wendell

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Jerusalem, Israel
    Posts
    708
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Switchboard generates Access.exe error (AccXP and 2000)

    I have had the samew problem, and just gave up and make a simple from for a switchboard

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Switchboard generates Access.exe error (AccXP and 2000)

    You didn't indicate which operating system you're using, but the log in question is the Dr Watson log, which should be called drwtsn32.log, and you'll probably find it in your profile.

    If everything else works but not the switchboard, the switchboard form may be corrupted. Can you export the code in the switchboard to a text file? If so, do that and then save the form with the HasModule property set to false. Compact the database and then try importing the text file back into the form's module. That might clear up the problem. If not, I'd try a <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.wopr.com/cgi-bin/w3t/showthreaded.pl?Cat=&Board=acc&Number=44732&page=& view=&sb=&o=&vc=1#Post44732>decompile</A> and see if that does anything for the problem. I've seen dr watson errors like this on code that looks innocuous, and it may be a single line of code that is causing the problem.
    Charlotte

  5. #5
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Bismarck, ND, USA
    Posts
    451
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Switchboard generates Access.exe error (AccXP and 2000)

    How would I go about exporting the code to a text file?
    egghead

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Switchboard generates Access.exe error (AccXP and 2000)

    Go into the VBE and bring up the code module for the form. From the File menu, select Export File. In Save As Type, select All Files (*.*) and change the proposed extension to txt from cls. To use that file later, you would open the form you saved with the HasModule property set to No and click on the code button to open a module for it. Then with that module open, use Insert-->File and browse to the file you saved as text. You'll have to comment out or remove the text that looks something like this:

    VERSION 1.0 CLASS
    BEGIN
    MultiUse = -1 'True
    End
    Charlotte

  7. #7
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Bismarck, ND, USA
    Posts
    451
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Switchboard generates Access.exe error (AccXP and 2000)

    Thanks for all the suggestions. I did export the code, but then I couldn't find the information you said would need to be deleted, so here's what I did instead:

    I documented everything that I had on the switchboard, then I deleted the switchboard form and the switchboard table. Then I sat down at the computer running Access 2000 (the run the switchboard wouldn't run on, and ran the switchboard manager. It recognized that there was no longer a switchboard, and I rebuilt it. The new one works in computers running 2000 and XP.

    Not the prettiest, but at least I got something to work.

    Thanks again for the help!
    egghead

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Switchboard generates Access.exe error (AccXP and 2000)

    You probably exported it with a .cls extension, which hides that part of the code and handles it automatically. You would only see it if you exported the code to a .txt extensions and then used insert-->file to bring it back into a form's module. Actually, you should have been able to delete the switchboard form and keep the switchboard table, and Access should have rebuilt the form for you.
    Charlotte

  9. #9
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Bismarck, ND, USA
    Posts
    451
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Switchboard generates Access.exe error (AccXP and 2000)

    I did export it twice, first with the .cls and when I realized I exported it again as text. When I was ready to use Insert/File, I wasn't sure where I should be in the Project screen, so I was already kind of in trouble! But I didn't see that code you referred to, either.

    As to having Access rebuild the form for me, how would I have done that?

    This is quite a learning experience! Thanks.
    egghead

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Switchboard generates Access.exe error (AccXP and 2000)

    Just delete the old form and then start the switchboard manager. It will find the Switchboard Items table and create a new form based on the existing table. <img src=/S/shrug.gif border=0 alt=shrug width=39 height=15>
    Charlotte

  11. #11
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Bismarck, ND, USA
    Posts
    451
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Switchboard generates Access.exe error (AccXP and 2000)

    Maybe my problems are more serious than I thought. I had tried deleting the form and starting the switchboard manager. It did nothing!
    egghead

  12. #12
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Switchboard generates Access.exe error (AccXP and 2000)

    What do you mean, it did nothing? You should have seen the switchboard manager window with the menus from your table listed in it unless you had cleared out the Switchboard Items table as well. If the wizard itself is the problem, you may need to do a detect and repair from the Help menu to get Access back to normal.
    Charlotte

  13. #13
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Bismarck, ND, USA
    Posts
    451
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Switchboard generates Access.exe error (AccXP and 2000)

    By doing nothing, I meant the switchboard manager did not create a new form based on the existing table.
    egghead

  14. #14
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Switchboard generates Access.exe error (AccXP and 2000)

    Did you see the items from the existing table in the Switchboard Manager? If so, once you closed the switchboard manager, was there no Switchboard form anywhere in your database window? If not, then there's something wrong with your installation.
    Charlotte

  15. #15
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Bismarck, ND, USA
    Posts
    451
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Switchboard generates Access.exe error (AccXP and 2000)

    In the switchboard manager I could see all of the items, but there was not a switchboard form after closing it. That's why I ended up deleting the table, too, and then the switchboard manager let me start all over.

    I went to the machine that has Access 2000 on it to re-create it, and now it works fine for all three users (two using XP, one using 2000).
    egghead

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •