Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    41
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Question Can't access harddrive

    I have a Gateway e4100 small form hornet tower desktop PC. I am running currently on a 70 GB hard drive. In this computer, I can hook up my 70 GB western digital, and my 40 GB western digital, and access both with no problems. But when I place my western digital 20GB hard drive in, I can't access it. It's not scratched, damaged, or anything. So I don't know what gives here really. It has Windows XP SP2 installed on it. But it seems any HD under 40GB isn't allowed to be accessed on this computer? Strange.

  2. #2
    5 Star Lounger chowur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    804
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 54 Times in 51 Posts
    The best thing.I can advise is to download your user manual;https://support.gateway.com/s/PC/E41...800471ul.shtml
    Then go to trouble shoot,then hard drive.The best of luck in trouble shooting.
    Problems cannot be solved by the same level of thinking that created them. -Albert Einsten

  3. #3
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,202
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 215 Times in 202 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Magik View Post
    I have a Gateway e4100 small form hornet tower desktop PC. But when I place my western digital 20GB hard drive in, I can't access it. It has Windows XP SP2 installed on it. But it seems any HD under 40GB isn't allowed to be accessed on this computer?
    Magik,

    Hello.... The size of the "HD" shouldn't matter ... What is an issue is the "Drivers" for XP hard drive are most likely "IDE"... So unless your BIOS is setup to "see" IDE it wont boot the drive ... New HD's are "AHCI" (SATA)

    The only way out of this is to "Slipstream" the SATA drivers into XP using 3rd party software like nLite, or Macrium Reflect's "Redeploy" function, Acronis PlusPack, etc. or change the BIOS setting every time you want to boot the XP HD... Regards Fred

    PS: See This
    Last edited by Just Plain Fred; 2013-06-27 at 10:58.
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  4. #4
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    41
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    My e4100 is IDE. My western digital 70 GB and 40 GB are IDE drives, both of them.

  5. #5
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Magik View Post
    I have a Gateway e4100 small form hornet tower desktop PC. I am running currently on a 70 GB hard drive. In this computer, I can hook up my 70 GB western digital, and my 40 GB western digital, and access both with no problems. But when I place my western digital 20GB hard drive in, I can't access it. It's not scratched, damaged, or anything. So I don't know what gives here really. It has Windows XP SP2 installed on it. But it seems any HD under 40GB isn't allowed to be accessed on this computer? Strange.
    Have you looked here:-

    Untitled.jpg
    Click image to enlarge it.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  6. #6
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,202
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 215 Times in 202 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Magik View Post
    My e4100 is IDE. My western digital 70 GB and 40 GB are IDE drives, both of them.
    Magik,

    Hello... Are there any jumpers (settings) on the XP Hard Drive?
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  7. #7
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Round Rock, TX
    Posts
    43
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
    Does the drive show up in the BIOS? If not, you have a problem (like maybe a bad drive, bad track zero)

  8. #8
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    41
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Ok guys false alarm. My Windows XP install on that hard drive had become corrupted somehow. I did a simple repair install using the Windows Xp disc, and was able to access the installation on the 20 GB hard drive. Thanks!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •