Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    Posts
    181
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Acronis True Image Home Plus Pack and WinPE - need help

    I'm trying to migrate my Win7 Ultimate drive to a new machine.

    I have a clone of the old machine's hard drive made with Acronis True Image Home and I bought their Plus Pack which they claim will allow me to move that clone to new hardware.

    I downloaded the WinPE iso file (KB3AIK_EN.iso) and put it in a folder named WinPE. I didn't burn it, since my understanding is that drivers and/or other files need do be added before making a CD/DVD from it.

    Then when I open Plus Pack, a wizard tells me to locate the WinPE files. When I direct it to the WinPE folder, it tells me that the files it wants are not there.

    I can't find any instructions for Plus Pack from Acronis, nor a step-by-step guide from any other source, including the Acronis forum.

    Has anyone here actually gone through the process (hopefully successfully) or know of a link to a specific help file for this task?

  2. #2
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    2,335
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 267 Times in 260 Posts
    You should install KB3AIK_EN and then Acronis will use components of that install and any additional drivers you need to make the PE disc.

    You do not have to burn the ISO to DVD to install if you use a virtual DVD drive like VirtualCloneDrive to mount the ISO and install.

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    Posts
    181
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Thanks. I've installed AIK and then went to Plus Pack and it mounted the Acronis files. When it was completed, it indicated that files were written to
    Program Files\Acronis\True Image Home\BartPE\WinPE.zip

    But I'm not sure what to do now.

    The zip file doesn't have an iso in it and WinAIK/WinPE doesn't either - or any files created or modified at the time the Acronis build completed.

    Where is the ISO file to burn a bootable DVD with the WinPE and Acronis files to enable me to install the clone on the new machine?

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    2,335
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 267 Times in 260 Posts
    I'll have to research that part myself if no one else knows first hand. I use EaseUS ToDo and that just cranked out the WinPE ISO file directly.


    Edit: See if this Acronis KB article helps.
    Last edited by F.U.N. downtown; 2013-06-28 at 23:48.

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to F.U.N. downtown For This Useful Post:

    joro (2013-06-29)

  6. #5
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,202
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 215 Times in 202 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by joro View Post
    I'm trying to migrate my Win7 Ultimate drive to a new machine.

    I have a clone of the old machine's hard drive made with Acronis True Image Home and I bought their Plus Pack which they claim will allow me to move that clone to new hardware.



    Has anyone here actually gone through the process (hopefully successfully) or know of a link to a specific help file for this task?
    joro,

    Hello... I have used the "PlusPack" function several times with mixed results... Although i still run with Acronis 2010 V7046, what i found was the following.

    1. I took an full Image of the OS \ Disk in question...saved it to a "External HD"

    2. Using a "Non PE" Acronis disk ( the simple one to make) Then booted into the new PC with it and ran Acronis

    3.Then choose to "Recover my Disk" and you will see eventually this screen ...and choose the "universal restore" check box

    4. You will have to "point " Acronis to and place that you have "New Drivers" stored (CD\DVD, etc.) so that Acronis can load them along with the recovery.

    5. I Now use Macrium Reflect Pro ..."Redeploy Function" ...rather than Acronis ...found that their 2013 was just too "Buggy" for my OS's..so i stick with 2010...

    Regards Fred

    PS: Think that you can use the simple ( Non PE ) Acronis Recovery Disk to do the job..
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by Just Plain Fred; 2013-06-29 at 07:12.
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  7. #6
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    Posts
    181
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Just Plain Fred View Post
    PS: Think that you can use the simple ( Non PE ) Acronis Recovery Disk to do the job..
    Very interesting - and excellent advice.

    I used the regular Acronis bootable media to start the new machine, then went to the Recovery mode. But the option to Use Acronis Universal Restore was not there (I'm using TIH 2011). After looking all over all the options and finding none that would go to my clone, I decided to let the bootable media start Windows.

    That it did, and after getting my desktop in a very large format with different colors, a pop-up appeared with the 'search for and install drivers' window. It identified, found and installed about 30 drivers, some of which were ready to use and others required a reboot. This took about 15 minutes.

    After rebooting, the desktop came up looking normal. Some programs, like Acrobat, Photoshop, WordPerfect are taking a very long time to initialize. That may be a result of an AMD Athlon CPU in the old machine and an Intel (same speed, dual core, 64-bit) in the new machine. I'll see how thing go. Hopefully it will return to normal after each application has been used a few times.

    But amazingly, in the past when I tried to boot on the clone of the old machine, Windows told me it couldn't. Now, using the Acronis bootable disc, it not only booted, but installed the drivers it needed.

    Of interest: when the bootable media came up with its menu, it said "Acronis True Image Home / PlusPack". But I hadn't used PlusPack for this.

    Thanks very much for the help. Mission accomplished.

  8. #7
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    2,335
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 267 Times in 260 Posts
    That sounds pretty typical of a migration that does boot; Windows will take a while sorting out new drivers for the hardware. After 2 or three reboots it should be back up to speed expected but the system may not get all the drivers by that search and install process alone. If it's not as speedy as you think it should be, I like a second opinion there and use SlimDriversFree to check and see what drivers it says is missing or outdated. If you do give that a go be careful of the "extras" it will want to install and make a restore point before each driver install and reboot. Usually its spot on but once in a while the program mis-identifies and the wrong driver for a system is worse than a crippled one.

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to F.U.N. downtown For This Useful Post:

    joro (2013-07-04)

  10. #8
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    Posts
    181
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Thanks for the link to SlimDriversFree. It identified some needed updates and a pile of non-critical ones. Also for the heads-up on install and the need to set a system restore before installing new drivers.

    I've long held the belief that if it ain't broke, don't fix it. When a current driver is working perfectly and things seem to be going as fast as when the machine was new, I'm not inclined to change it. I appreciate good free software, and usually can tolerate the nags that often come with them. SlimDriversFree has an annoying nag, but I'll set it not to load on boot and I'll only check it occasionally.

    Again, mahalo nui loa (Hawaiian = Thanks very much).

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •