Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    West Nyack, NY
    Posts
    23
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    On one computer, unable to sign into bank website

    I have a puzzling problem I hope someone can help me with. On one of my Win7 laptops, when I try to sign into my bank account, when I click the Sign On button (see attached screen shot), there is no response; nothing happens at all. On a second laptop and on a desktop system, I have no problem; the sign on proceeds normally. On the problem system, this occurs in all three browsers: Chrome, Firefox, and Internet Explorer. I have verified that both Javascript and Java are enabled on this system. I am at a loss as to what is causing this issue and how to fix it. The site is www.citibank.com when you get there, select to sign on to your Bank Accounts; that brings you to the screen that I captured. If you type in any characters in the username and password fields and then click the Sign On button, you should get an "Information not found" reply; when I enter it on my problem system, I get no response. Can someone suggest a fix for this problem? Thanks in advance.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    10,406
    Thanks
    131
    Thanked 1,167 Times in 1,071 Posts
    Do you have any security apps that may be causing this?
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    West Nyack, NY
    Posts
    23
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Running Norton Internet Security 2013, but this is also running on other systems that don't have the problem.

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    10,406
    Thanks
    131
    Thanked 1,167 Times in 1,071 Posts
    Configuration can be different. Have you tried disabling NIS for a while?
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Halifax, Canada
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    You might want to check if anything was recently quarantined by NIS:

    'browsers not working after Norton internet security quarantined trojans'

    SEARCH TERMS:
    "browsers not working" w7 nis trojan

  6. #6
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    47
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Had the same problem...and a possible solution.

    Geistman,

    Had the same problem on an XP dktop
    ...and a possible solution.

    Did you notice that their IT ppl.
    changed the look of the values
    in the ID/Pwd fields?

    Before the "change",
    only the Pwd field used to show asterisks ****.
    That's the usual, right?

    Now: BOTH fields show asterisks ****,
    as shown in your image.

    Possible Sol:
    =======
    _Carefully_ enter BY HAND - ie via your keyboard,
    (not via any pwd Mgr. like LastPass),
    first the Pwd field,
    then the value of the UserID field.

    In that exact order!
    1st enter Pwd, only then enter the UserID...

    Then,
    press Enter or click [SIGN ON] button,
    as quickly as you can (within 1-2 seconds!).

    It sounds crazy,
    but that's the only simple way it works for me.
    Believe me, I tried EVERYTHING before - a real PITA!

    Let us know if that worked f/you.
    Last edited by SF99; 2013-07-04 at 14:01.

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    West Nyack, NY
    Posts
    23
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks for all suggestions, but nothing I have tried corrects the problem. I don't know whether this problem is a remnant of some malware that had been on this system -- Conduit search was on, but has (hopefully) been removed. So short of trying to use System Restore or simply backing up data and then re-installing Windows and apps, I am at a loss. (Fortunately, I was shown a back-door that allows me to log in.)

  8. #8
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    47
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Hi geistman,

    Understand your frustration!

    I believe it's a general login problem
    for many users, not only you.

    I have the same login problem you have, too...

    Any chance to share the "back door" URL you mentioned,
    that allows you to login, w/o problems?

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •