Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 23 of 23

Thread: Script errors

  1. #16
    New Lounger Glitch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Warwick, NY USA
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Red face

    Same problem recently developed on my wife's laptop & msnbc.com (her home page). IE10 Win7. Tried most of the above --- no joy.

    FINALLY FIXED by running the "Fixit Tool" at:

    http://support.microsoft.com/mats/ie...d_safety/en-us

    Unfortunately, except for reporting it made repairs, it didn't give any indication of what was done.

    .../Glitch

  2. #17
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 931 Times in 852 Posts
    It appears that the Fix-It tool returns everything to a default state. I glad this worked for you, but many of us prefer the add-on extensions we have chosen. I'm not sure for example if LastPass would be kept enabled if I used this Fix-It solution. I also use IE Spell Check, which often gets disabled with the return to default fixes.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  3. #18
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    2,780
    Thanks
    84
    Thanked 343 Times in 309 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Medico View Post
    I also use IE Spell Check, which often gets disabled with the return to default fixes.
    IE10 has a built-in spell checker: Spellchecking in IE10

    Bruce

  4. #19
    New Lounger Glitch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Warwick, NY USA
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Medico

    The Fix-it tool had no effect on the add-on I use. These include RoboForm password manager, various Google add-ins, E-Web printing, and some more obscure items. It also left the Microsoft add-ins alone, but I would expect that.

    I had previously changed to the built in IE 10 spellcheck.

    The only thing I noticed after the fix was the long running script error went away.

    But as they say, "Your mileage may vary".

    .../Glitch

  5. #20
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 931 Times in 852 Posts
    When I disable IE Spell Check, and purposely misspell a word, when I choose ABC in the Taskbar, it asks me if I wish to install IE Spell Check. Hmmmm, perhaps I'll have to try to uninstall IE Spell Check and see what happens.

    Same thing happens when I uninstall IE Spell. I am using IE10. Hmmm, any ideas?

    Edit: OK I see when a word is identified as misspelled, Shift+F10 brings up the spell checker. OK, that's easy enough.
    Last edited by Medico; 2013-07-12 at 15:40.

  6. #21
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    2,780
    Thanks
    84
    Thanked 343 Times in 309 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Medico View Post
    Edit: OK I see when a word is identified as misspelled, Shift+F10 brings up the spell checker. OK, that's easy enough.
    Or right-click on the misspelled word.

    Bruce

  7. #22
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 931 Times in 852 Posts
    OK, I see. While IESpell was installed the right click always asked about IESpell. Now that it is uninstalled, and I have rebooted, the right click option also works.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  8. #23
    Silver Lounger t8ntlikly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Chandler, AZ
    Posts
    1,992
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 12 Times in 10 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Medico View Post
    It appears that the Fix-It tool returns everything to a default state. I glad this worked for you, but many of us prefer the add-on extensions we have chosen. I'm not sure for example if LastPass would be kept enabled if I used this Fix-It solution. I also use IE Spell Check, which often gets disabled with the return to default fixes.
    Sorry for not posting sooner, I decided to wait a few days. but the link you posted Glitch seems to have done the trick.

    Ted,
    The tool did bring some settings back to default, but ALL of my add-ons, are just as I left them all that were enabled, are still enabled, and those that were disabled are still disabled.

    Again
    thanks for the link Glitch
    Thanks John
    Teamwork is essential; it gives the enemy other people to shoot at. (Murphy's War Laws #39)

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •