Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 23 of 23

Thread: Script errors

  1. #16
    New Lounger Glitch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Warwick, NY USA
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Red face

    Same problem recently developed on my wife's laptop & msnbc.com (her home page). IE10 Win7. Tried most of the above --- no joy.

    FINALLY FIXED by running the "Fixit Tool" at:

    http://support.microsoft.com/mats/ie...d_safety/en-us

    Unfortunately, except for reporting it made repairs, it didn't give any indication of what was done.

    .../Glitch

  2. #17
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 928 Times in 851 Posts
    It appears that the Fix-It tool returns everything to a default state. I glad this worked for you, but many of us prefer the add-on extensions we have chosen. I'm not sure for example if LastPass would be kept enabled if I used this Fix-It solution. I also use IE Spell Check, which often gets disabled with the return to default fixes.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  3. #18
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    2,614
    Thanks
    76
    Thanked 327 Times in 296 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Medico View Post
    I also use IE Spell Check, which often gets disabled with the return to default fixes.
    IE10 has a built-in spell checker: Spellchecking in IE10

    Bruce

  4. #19
    New Lounger Glitch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Warwick, NY USA
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Medico

    The Fix-it tool had no effect on the add-on I use. These include RoboForm password manager, various Google add-ins, E-Web printing, and some more obscure items. It also left the Microsoft add-ins alone, but I would expect that.

    I had previously changed to the built in IE 10 spellcheck.

    The only thing I noticed after the fix was the long running script error went away.

    But as they say, "Your mileage may vary".

    .../Glitch

  5. #20
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 928 Times in 851 Posts
    When I disable IE Spell Check, and purposely misspell a word, when I choose ABC in the Taskbar, it asks me if I wish to install IE Spell Check. Hmmmm, perhaps I'll have to try to uninstall IE Spell Check and see what happens.

    Same thing happens when I uninstall IE Spell. I am using IE10. Hmmm, any ideas?

    Edit: OK I see when a word is identified as misspelled, Shift+F10 brings up the spell checker. OK, that's easy enough.
    Last edited by Medico; 2013-07-12 at 15:40.

  6. #21
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    2,614
    Thanks
    76
    Thanked 327 Times in 296 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Medico View Post
    Edit: OK I see when a word is identified as misspelled, Shift+F10 brings up the spell checker. OK, that's easy enough.
    Or right-click on the misspelled word.

    Bruce

  7. #22
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 928 Times in 851 Posts
    OK, I see. While IESpell was installed the right click always asked about IESpell. Now that it is uninstalled, and I have rebooted, the right click option also works.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  8. #23
    Silver Lounger t8ntlikly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Chandler, AZ
    Posts
    1,966
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 11 Times in 9 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Medico View Post
    It appears that the Fix-It tool returns everything to a default state. I glad this worked for you, but many of us prefer the add-on extensions we have chosen. I'm not sure for example if LastPass would be kept enabled if I used this Fix-It solution. I also use IE Spell Check, which often gets disabled with the return to default fixes.
    Sorry for not posting sooner, I decided to wait a few days. but the link you posted Glitch seems to have done the trick.

    Ted,
    The tool did bring some settings back to default, but ALL of my add-ons, are just as I left them all that were enabled, are still enabled, and those that were disabled are still disabled.

    Again
    thanks for the link Glitch
    Thanks John
    Teamwork is essential; it gives the enemy other people to shoot at. (Murphy's War Laws #39)

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •