Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Silver Lounger Banyarola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Big Indian, New York
    Posts
    1,900
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 65 Times in 54 Posts

    Cable Modem Access

    My cable modem is supplied by my ISP...

    Is there a way to access it to look at the settings, logs etc. ???

    Thanks Guys..
    "If You Are Reading This In English, Thank A VET"

  2. #2
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    240
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 24 Times in 24 Posts
    Generally that information is supplied when you receive the modem, including the default username and password. You may be able to look it up on their site as well.

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger Banyarola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Big Indian, New York
    Posts
    1,900
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 65 Times in 54 Posts
    I think you are referring to a wireless modem.

    This is my Cable modem that was supplied by my internet provider..

    My internet cable plugs into one end and my computer is connected to the output side of the modem.
    "If You Are Reading This In English, Thank A VET"

  4. #4
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    240
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 24 Times in 24 Posts
    The ISP generally supplies information for All modems. You can find the "Home Page" of your modem by finding out your ip address (for example 192.168.0.10) and going to the root (default gateway) of that address range (which would be 192.168.0.1 in this case).
    That will normally give you a logon page. Your ISP should be able to give you the default settings for your modem, or you can generaly look them up yourself by getting the make and model of your modem and searching for it through Google.

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,584
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    My ISP is Charter Communications. They have never supplied a way to get to the settings on the equipment they supply. They want to do remote support. I think all ISP that supply equipment are the same. They don't want the end user doing anything to the settings so they limit access to the device as much as possible.

    Joe

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    240
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 24 Times in 24 Posts
    Maybe it's different here in Canada, I've always been given a package with my modems which shows me to access and change my wifi security and settings, change my default ipconfig, password, etc.

    Modem.jpg

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •