New Lounger
    Thanks

One of two Outlook profiles inaccessible

I am so pleased to have come across this site and forum - it seems packed with so much useful information. I am a Windows novice, but my husband is 'encouraging' me to take more interest in how our home system runs - and I am finding that I am enjoying it !

I have an immediate problem that I would be grateful for help with - I have got part answers from elsewhere on the web, but not a total picture.

I have two Outlook 2007 profiles. One, with the file ending Outlook1.pst – I will refer to it as Profile B), is fine and working normally(and always has done). The other (with the ending Outlook.pst - I will call this Profile A ) has been intermittently troublesome but has responded well to using the Inbox Repair Tool (scanpast.exe)
    Now I am unable to access this problematic profile A at all or use the Repair tool – or find it anywhere.

(Both emails are working when accessed on the provider’s webmail login)

When I log on and click on the Outlook drop down box options, the Profile A one brings up this message:

‘Cannot open your default e-mail folders. The file C:\Documents and settings\username\Local Settings\Application Data\Microsoft Outlook\Outlook.pst is not a personal folders file.’

When I tried to perform a repair, browsing through scanpst.exe to the profile in question, this message came up.

‘The Microsoft Outlook 2007 Inbox Repair Tool does not recognise the file C:\Documents and settings\username\Local Settings\Application Data\Microsoft Outlook\Outlook.pst. No information can be recovered.’

When I did repairs before, I thought that a back up had been created but can’t find anything.

Is everything in this profile A corrupted and lost ? It consists of maybe 400 emails in folders and a contacts list. I would like to get it back but could live without them – I could recreate the contacts from other info. The B profile would have been much, much more problematic to lose.