Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,202
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 215 Times in 202 Posts

    3G \4G Wireless Router Question

    Hello All,

    Does anyone have any experience ,or can recommend a 4G wireless router with a (Verizon) Pantech UML290, working with a Laptop \ Desktop combo? I have heard of CradlePoint Routers,Thanks for any input but would like some "personal experience" if possible...Thanks for any input.... Regards Fred
    Last edited by Just Plain Fred; 2013-07-17 at 12:51.
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  2. #2
    3 Star Lounger bassfisher6522's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    373
    Thanks
    53
    Thanked 40 Times in 39 Posts
    Couple of questions; Do you not have a regular ISP for your internet connection and what particular reason for a 3/4G connection? The mobile connections are much slower than a standard ISP wireless connection. If you do go with a mobile connection, you'll will need one of those "hot spot" connections if you want to be able to share that connection with other devices. The device you mention in your post is for a single device connection.

  3. #3
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,202
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 215 Times in 202 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bassfisher6522 View Post
    Couple of questions; Do you not have a regular ISP for your internet connection and what particular reason for a 3/4G connection? The mobile connections are much slower than a standard ISP wireless connection. If you do go with a mobile connection, you'll will need one of those "hot spot" connections if you want to be able to share that connection with other devices. The device you mention in your post is for a single device connection.
    bassfisher,
    Hello.. Thank you for your response... I'm a Router "Noob", and I'll give it my best shot to provide answers..

    1. Verizon provides my Internet connection .. I live in the mountains ( literally ) of NE. Tennessee and only have a 3G\4G " air card (Pantech UML290) That connects me to the outside world with the help of a directional outside antenna. So there is no choice ( no phone cable, cable TV, etc. ) Don't even have US Mail...

    2. CradlePoint makes 3G\4G routers that can "Share" the aircard ... but have no knowledge about them, and just asking questions at this point.

    3. Want to have a "Laptop" , Printer, and two Desktop PC's connected... Regards Fred
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by Just Plain Fred; 2013-07-17 at 15:09.
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  4. #4
    3 Star Lounger bassfisher6522's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    373
    Thanks
    53
    Thanked 40 Times in 39 Posts
    Verizon provides my Internet connection .. I live in the mountains ( literally ) of NE. Tennessee and only have a 3G\4G " air card (Pantech UML290) That connects me to the outside world with the help of a directional outside antenna. So there is no choice ( no phone cable, cable TV, etc. ) Don't even have US Mail.
    Been in that situation before and know exactly what your going through....my only recourse was dail up...3/4G didn't exist back in them days.

    Yep...that router should do exactly what you want to do....wired and wirelessly. I have no knowledge about those types of routers, and to be honest that's the first I've heard of them. My only question is; do you need an existing ISP hard line? The only other thing that bothers me, is with most mobile data plans, there are limitations to the amount of data one can use and the price plans can be expensive. Then there's the throttling issue as well, which means if you use to much bandwidth (which equals to speed) they can and will lower it with out your prior knowledge. Just some food for thought.

    Now, have you thought about a Satellite service like HughesNet. Get this, you don't need an existing land line. It's at least worth looking into.

    http://www.hughesnet.com/index.cfm?page=FAQ

  5. #5
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,434
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Fred,

    You could probably use the same setup I use for my RV to rebroadcast your signal. It also has 4 RJ-45s for hard wire connections. HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  6. #6
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,202
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 215 Times in 202 Posts
    bassfisher, RG,

    Hello...Thanks for the "Input" .... I will post back with my results with the "CradlePoint 3G\4G " router .. Should receive it for over the weekend testing...

    Regards Fred
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  7. #7
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,202
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 215 Times in 202 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Just Plain Fred View Post
    I will post back with my results with the "CradlePoint 3G\4G " router ..
    Hello All,

    Just wanted to report back with some 3G \ 4G router results ....

    1. I now have 4 devices attached , and all is functioning well two desktops, printer, and a TV . In addition there now is a Wireless network available for our Laptop ...

    2. The CradlePoint MBR95 has a switch so you can turn the Internet access off , as well as another to shut down just the WiFi bit ..

    3. No real problems to configure, although i had to do the "Reset" ( hold down for at least 45secs) to initially get it to boot into the setup screen.

    4. Their web page gives access to their Tech support ( which i used) for questions .

    5. Overall a great piece of equipment for anyone like me who live in the "Sticks" and only has internet access through an "Air Card'..Their website gives a list of supported "Modems" supported for each CradlePoint model . Hope this can be of some help Regards Fred
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •