Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    6,042
    Thanks
    195
    Thanked 755 Times in 691 Posts

    Annoying Adobe Flash Player update

    Hey Y'all,

    Looks like Adobe is getting more annoying with it's Flash Player Updates!
    I installed when I was prompted upon entering FF. It downloaded the software and I got the UAC prompt then it proceded to install along with McAfee Security Scanner. Never a chance to decline! Just thought y'all would like to know. Of course I hit Revo and immediately uninstalled it. HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    VBA Rules!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs


  2. Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!

    Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Super Moderator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    2,138
    Thanks
    102
    Thanked 207 Times in 181 Posts
    There are full, clean installers available for Flash, also an uninstall tool. Easiest obtained from the links maintained at the Security Garden site: http://securitygarden.blogspot.co.uk/

  4. #3
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    4,608
    Thanks
    66
    Thanked 523 Times in 472 Posts
    I just updated a client's Adobe Flash for IE directly from the Adobe web site and didn't run into the issue. When I updated Adobe Reader, there was a check box for Macafee on the download page that was pre checked. Usually this is in the installer. Are you sure you didn't miss this box RG?


    Jerry

  5. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    10,171
    Thanks
    129
    Thanked 1,138 Times in 1,049 Posts
    The checkbox was there for me too.
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  6. #5
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    6,042
    Thanks
    195
    Thanked 755 Times in 691 Posts
    Hey Y'all,

    I did it twice on Win 7 & Win 8 (dual boot machine) I thought I'd missed it on the Win 8 install so I was very careful on the Win 7.
    I'll be doing my laptop tomorrow (also dual boot) I'll be even more careful then and report back.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    VBA Rules!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs


  7. #6
    Star Lounger lesle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    North Florida
    Posts
    81
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
    RG, sorry, this may be a little late, but

    http://download.macromedia.com/pub/f...ash_player.exe
    will get you to the current download for Firefox
    install_flash_player.exe
    and
    http://download.macromedia.com/pub/f..._player_ax.exe
    will get you to the current download for IE
    install_flash_player_ax.exe

    I use Firefox and check my add-ons every morning. When there is an update, I use Firefox to get to its add-on and have to use IE to get to its add-on. Be aware that these URLs have changed in the past.

    I, too, see the McAfee box and uncheck it. I also move the radio button to notify me but don't update.

    I'll be glad when we get to an Adobe-free world.

  8. #7
    Silver Lounger Banyarola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Big Indian, New York
    Posts
    1,854
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 63 Times in 52 Posts
    Sometimes I think the updates are for the sole reason to get you to install some crapware and nothing else..

    If I remember right, Adobe reader force installs Chrome.. It happened to me twice.
    I'm pretty sure it was Adobe Reader...
    "If You Are Reading This In English, Thank A VET"

  9. #8
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    4,608
    Thanks
    66
    Thanked 523 Times in 472 Posts
    I have never seen an Adobe app "force" install Chrome. There are check boxes that are enabled by default as described earlier on this page, but there has always been an option to opt out if you carefully look at all the screens both on the download page and the install steps.

    Jerry

  10. #9
    Silver Lounger Banyarola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Big Indian, New York
    Posts
    1,854
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 63 Times in 52 Posts
    I checked and tried it twice.

    I believe there were three extra downloads and only two of them had an opt out.

    This was a while back so my memory is a little fuzzy but I do know there was no op out for Chrome.
    "If You Are Reading This In English, Thank A VET"

  11. #10
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    6,042
    Thanks
    195
    Thanked 755 Times in 691 Posts
    Hey Y'all,

    Ok I missed it. It was on the Download page! I'm so conditioned not to look for these until I start installing I completely missed it TWICE! Sorry I was so late getting back on this, I've been getting the new computer (see signature Desktop) ready for prime time.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    VBA Rules!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs


  12. #11
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    near Boulder, Colorado, USA
    Posts
    75
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    I am sure I looked thoroughly for an opt-out button, but never saw one, and Flash saddled me with McAfee. I found that Revo Uninstaller does a pretty good job of excising it, leaving only a couple of easily spotted folders behind. The registry was also pretty clean after Revo got through, unless McAfee hides its tracks behind entries that do NOT contain the "mcafee" string.

  13. #12
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    4,608
    Thanks
    66
    Thanked 523 Times in 472 Posts
    The opt out check box is on the web page for the download. It seems to alternate between adding Chrome with the Google tool bar and McAfee. Heres the current listing when I went to the Flash download page:
    adobe.JPG

    Jerry

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •