Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
    3 Star Lounger
    Thanks

New Asus notebook: Want to make it "Pro"

I am completely new to 8, more or less. Last night I just ordered a notebook because the deal was irresistible I got an ASUS X55C Notebook Intel Core i3 2370M(2.40GHz) 15.6" 4GB Memory DDR3 1600 500GB HDD DVD+/-RW Intel GMA 3000 from Newegg for $259 final cost + tax, so I could learn this OS, and do some things away from my desktop. Okay, it comes with W8 64 bit, but not the "Pro" version. Yet, I want the Hyper-V. And I guess I don't get that unless I were to have Pro.

So my question is... I so happen to have an OEM 8 Pro 64 upgrade disc, unused, at hand. Can I make use of that, without having to buy the "Pro Pack?" I really want some kind of solution (hopefully a free one) to this problem so I can incorporate XP into the system.

Silver Lounger
    Thanks
    If you want a fully working XP system (not just something to use as a testing bed) you may be better off either to dual boot or run XP in VM, either on VirtualBox or VMWarePlayer. You can't capture a USB port and use that in hyper-V as far as I know, but you can using either of other options and you should have ample space available on the 500gig drive to partition and set up a dual boot system as well. A VM is going to be rather slow on the same platter drive as the host.

The OEM builders would work if it's used instead of what's installed now but I don't know about an in-place upgrade.

3. The Following User Says Thank You to F.U.N. downtown For This Useful Post:

Gerard3 (2013-07-23)

3 Star Lounger
    Thanks
    Once again, you are a hero to me F.U.N.downtown! (BTW, great to see you again). If I may, do you have a personal preference between Virtual Box or VMWarePlayer? Since as you say the VM would be slow on the same platter (Ugh... 5400 rpm at that), Could I set it up on my Sony external 1TB USB 3 drive???

Silver Lounger
    Thanks