Lounger
    Thanks

Angry Data Matching problem.

Help please .... I've been struggling with this issue for the last few days - very perplexing. I have been using a fairly comprehensive spreadsheet for many years to keep track of weekly rent payments from tenants. I import the Bank transactions each week & summarise them into a monthly table by income & expenditure type. This contains a running total column at the end showing the updated Bank Acct balance (or in this case Overdraft).
    I recently added a 'validation' procedure to check that the Bank balance from the import step summary agrees with the latest running total - which gets further & further down the page as the year progresses. This uses a MATCH command that simply looks for the correct Bank balance value in the running total column & returns an 'error' if it is not found. This seems to be working fine except in about 30% of the time the Error message comes up even though the correct balance does show in the running total column ie the Match command is not returning the correct result.
    I've check for formatting issues etc, and managed to fix some of these inconsistencies by adding a 'round(..)' prefix to the running total column cells.
    The import data comes from a csv file with correctly formatted values to two decimal places & there are no calculations being carried out except for some SUMIF totalling & '=a+b' type formulae.
    I can't see where any 'rounding issues' could be coming from, and wonder of there is something else I'm unaware of that could be the cause. The Copy/Paste Value step that's done manually at the start of each week to 'roll-over' the previous weeks closing balance does seem to cause some 'corruptions', but not in all cases. The attached file contains several worksheets & explanatory notes that give examples of the errors, along with the various stages I have been through with this. Test(4) is the final version of where I am at.