Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger midnight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Almost Deep East Texas
    Posts
    352
    Thanks
    42
    Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts

    Toolbars in IE 9

    how do I get them?

    BJ

  2. #2
    4 Star Lounger SpywareDr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Riviera Beach, Maryland, USA
    Posts
    490
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 52 Times in 43 Posts
    Who's do you want? There's lots of 'em out there. Here's a few:

    Google Toolbar

    Yahoo Toolbar

    MSN Toolbar

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger midnight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Almost Deep East Texas
    Posts
    352
    Thanks
    42
    Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
    [QUOTE=SpywareDr;914361]Who's do you want? There's lots of 'em out there. Here's a few:

    The basic IE toolbar, and favorites etc. All I have is a blank looking format.

    BJ

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,573
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    They are often installed as part of other software. Many people do not pay attention and just click OK, Install, or Next without even looking at what is being presented. The software author gets paid by the toolbar maker for each copy that gets installed. I've seen browsers that have four or five toolbars installed and the PC owner has no clue how they got there and how to get rid of them.

    Or as in post #2, some people deliberately download the toolbar and install it.

    Do you really want any? Are you looking to get rid of some?

    Joe

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,573
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    Right click in a blank area in the IE heading, select "Menu bar". Repeat and select "Favorites Bar" if you want that too.

    Joe

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger midnight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Almost Deep East Texas
    Posts
    352
    Thanks
    42
    Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
    Exactly what I needed.
    Rhetorical question: Why on earth didn't MS put it there like they always have.

    Many thanks.

    BJ

  7. #7
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,792
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by midnight View Post
    Exactly what I needed.
    Rhetorical question: Why on earth didn't MS put it there like they always have.

    Many thanks.

    BJ
    Probably because a significant number of users would rather have the space than the toolbar. No matter what they chose for the default (toolbar or no toolbar) a large number of people will be upset. I'm just happy they made it programmable so everybody can have what they want.

    Jerry

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •