Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Loughborough, Leics., UK
    Posts
    125
    Thanks
    45
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    avg internet security 2012 is offered for free, but shall I bother

    Hi
    Having pre-ordered a new version of a programme that I like, I find that I'm also getting avg internet security 2012 for free (ie I can download it and use a free registration code that I've been give to make it into the professional version).
    However I see that avg internet security 2013 is the current version... so 2012 is clearly already out of date.
    At the moment I'm using malwarebytes (free for occasional use rather than on all the time) and Microsoft Security essentials (also free and on all the time).

    What do you think? Should I ditch MSE in favour of the old (2012) AVG programme or just not bother with avg and continue as I am with MSE?
    Either way, it's no skin off my nose financially, since the old avg prog is offered free, but I'd be interested in comments.

    Kind regards
    David
    Kind regards
    David
    dwsolo

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP mrjimphelps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,396
    Thanks
    445
    Thanked 404 Times in 376 Posts
    You might be able to upgrade free (or cheaply) to AVG 2013 if you currently have AVG 2012 Pro. In that sense, it may be worth it to install AVG 2012 Pro.

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to mrjimphelps For This Useful Post:

    dwsolo (2013-07-27)

  4. #3
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Also AVG 2012 will not work with Win 8 if you have or are contemplating this OS. I have been using AVG 2013 AV and love it!
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to Medico For This Useful Post:

    dwsolo (2013-07-27)

  6. #4
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Loughborough, Leics., UK
    Posts
    125
    Thanks
    45
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Thanks Medico and mrjimphelps
    Indeed the update to 2013 is free. Don't really understand why they offered 2012 but anyway it updated fine :-)
    Cheers
    David
    Kind regards
    David
    dwsolo

  7. #5
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Glad things worked out for you. Congrats, you should enjoy using AVG 2013.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  8. #6
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Loughborough, Leics., UK
    Posts
    125
    Thanks
    45
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Maybe this belongs in a separate thread, but I'll ask here since it relates to my recent change from MSE to AVG 2013:
    I found today that my weekly OS backup operation (using Paragon Hard disk Manager 11 Pro smart backup wizard) crashes unless I temporarily disable AVG.

    This never occurred with MSE.

    Do others find a similar problem with Paragon or other OS backup programmes and with antivirus programmes)?
    Is there a way round it or do I simply have to remember to disable AVG (and to unplug the Internet cable for safety) for OS backups?
    Kind regards
    David
    dwsolo

  9. #7
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    I use Acronis True Image 2013 for my monthly OS Images, and Win 8 File History for my monthly data back ups. I have never had a problem with AVG 2013.

    It could be that AVG sees the Paragon .exe as a suspicious operation. Is there an update to Paragon?
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  10. #8
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Loughborough, Leics., UK
    Posts
    125
    Thanks
    45
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Hi Medico
    The version I have of Paragon 11 is the latest (and last) update according to my check just now. I'll contact them about this. Maybe I need to buy Paragon 12....
    hmmmm...
    As Legrand says in La Peste: Tout consiste recommencer... ;-)
    Back later :-)
    Kind regards
    David
    dwsolo

  11. #9
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    224
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 36 Times in 27 Posts
    Some antivirus software allows programs to be set up as exclusions, so check AVG to see if it has that ability.

  12. The Following User Says Thank You to cloudsandskye For This Useful Post:

    dwsolo (2013-07-31)

  13. #10
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Loughborough, Leics., UK
    Posts
    125
    Thanks
    45
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Hi Cloudsandskye
    I thought of that - tried excluding Paragon's backup.exe file, but it still crashed. Not sure which of its exe files I should exclude. I don't want to exclude too many files in case that makes the computer vulnerable. I have found, however, that I only need to disable AVG for 5 minutes; once the backup has stated AVG can come back into action and it doesn't prevent the backup from continuing, so that's not quite so bad.
    Kind regards
    David
    dwsolo

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •