Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    No operating system found

    A friend tried installing a DVD. Instead of removing the old DVD, he
    removed the CDR and put the new DVD in it's place. Both DVD's worked fine.
    He then removed the old DVD and replaced it with the CDR.

    He didn't make any jumper setting adjustments.

    It now boots up to a screen that says "No operating system found."

    Afterwards he removed the CDR & noticed the jumper was set to "Cable
    select." He then replaced it with the old DVD, just like it had been when
    both DVD's were working. Of course, by now, the damage had been done.

    I disconnected both DVD's & went into the BIOS & reset to default. Didn't
    work.

    Shut down to let it reset numerous times. Didn't work.

    It does boot up to a: with the Win98 emergency disk.

    Any suggestions?

    Thanks

    j

  2. #2
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cairns, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    885
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: No operating system found

    Does the BIOS allow you to select the device boot order? If so ensure the HDD is first.

    If this doesn't help, can you supply details on the system and the DVDs, it may give someone a pointer.

    Oh, have you made sure the draws of the DVD/CDR were empty?
    Granville

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: No operating system found

    Wish I could supply more info, but I won't be in front of the machine until tomorrow, . It's a Win98, PIII 500mhz with a Phoenix BIOS.

    It had a typical boot sequence: floppy, HDD, CD. Pretty sure the sequence order is adjustable.

    I'm not clear on what you meant by "have you made sure the draws of the DVD/CDR were empty?" Was that supposed to be "drawers"? If so, yes, I believe they were empty.

    Unfortunately, I was not there when the problem occurred.

    Any suggestions would be appreciated.

    Thx

    j

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cairns, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    885
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: No operating system found

    Oops! Sorry that was "drawers", it is wine-o-clock here and I wasn't focused, besides I near could spell!

    If the system is booting from the HDD before the CD then it was irrelevant anyway. Just a thought.

    Sorry, nothing else to add at this time.
    Granville

  5. #5
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
    Posts
    405
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: No operating system found

    It immediately springs to mind that with all the switching around, the IDE cable may have come loose from the HDD, or even a power connector. Give them both a check - I recommend removing and reinserting the IDE cable.
    We never really grow up, we only learn how to act in public.

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: No operating system found

    Thanks. I've had a couple of people suggest the unplug-replug method. Now for the stupid question that just occurred to me. Should the power be cut off to the machine or not when doing this? Yes, I'm aware of the necessity for grounding.

    Rgds

    j

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: No operating system found

    Powered down, not necessarily unplugged, although I always do.

  8. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Dominican Republic
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: No operating system found

    Can you boot with a floppy that has the FDISK command in it, and if yes, can you see the properties of the hard drive, and check if the hard drive has an Active Partition.

    jcanahuate

  9. #9
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
    Posts
    405
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: No operating system found

    I recommend not unplugging; but switch off the socket at the wall, if you want the extra safety. This maintains the earthing of the metal chassis, which is a good point to attach your earthing strap (or at least to discharge yourself to). This is valid for UK wiring and modern European outlets with earth pin. No idea about US/Canadian wiring standards. <img src=/S/shrug.gif border=0 alt=shrug width=39 height=15>
    We never really grow up, we only learn how to act in public.

  10. #10
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: No operating system found

    Problem has been solved. Phoenix BIOS had different interface than the diagram referred to, but I located the HDD detect feature. That worked.

    Thanks to all who responded,

    j

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •