Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minneapolis MN USA
    Posts
    60
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Command prompt woes

    I started back in the DOS days, so I shouldn't be a stranger to using the command prompt, but, the command that I've used the most is giving me fits in Win7. I can't seem to cd to the E:\ drive. It doesn't matter if it's an elevated Command prompt or not. I can go to the root of C: by typing cd C:\. But, when I try typing cd E: or cd E:\, I see E:\ below the prompt, but the cursor skips it and ends up on a new line with the prompt at the same location as when I tried to change drives.

    This all started as an attempt to change a directory from 'read only' so it can be used in a WAMP setup. ARGH!! I don't know any flavor of UNIX, but file permissions seem more more straight forward!
    Don
    Windows 7 64bit, Intel Core2 Quad 2.4 GHz, 8.0 GB RAM, nVidia 9500 GT, 1230 GB HD

  2. Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!

    Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    6,058
    Thanks
    196
    Thanked 765 Times in 699 Posts
    Don,

    Just drop the CD.
    Command Prompt.JPG
    HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    VBA Rules!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs


  4. #3
    Silver Lounger mrjimphelps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,137
    Thanks
    202
    Thanked 206 Times in 198 Posts
    CD E: <enter> wouldn't do anything.

    CD E:\ <enter> would leave you on the drive and directory you are currently on, but would change the default directory on E: to the root directory.

    E: <enter> would change you to the E: drive.

  5. #4
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minneapolis MN USA
    Posts
    60
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Boy do I ever feel old!! Once I changed to E:, I could use cd to 'change directories'. Am I remembering wrong that in early dos, before networked drives were much of a reality, that you didn't have to first change drives in order to navigate to directories on that drive? I swear that some days, I suffer from 'old timers'.
    Don
    Windows 7 64bit, Intel Core2 Quad 2.4 GHz, 8.0 GB RAM, nVidia 9500 GT, 1230 GB HD

  6. #5
    Silver Lounger mrjimphelps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,137
    Thanks
    202
    Thanked 206 Times in 198 Posts
    You first had to make sure that the drive you wanted was the active one, that is, the one which showed up in the DOS prompt. Could have been multiple hard drives, floppy drives, CD drives, or network drives.

    Second, you then would issue the CD command to make the desired directory the active one.

    By doing the above, you could issue short, abbreviated DOS commands. Whatever wasn't already the default (e.g. D: or the directory) had to be included in the command, making for a lot of typing and potential typos.

  7. #6
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    2,820
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 108 Times in 102 Posts
    You forget CD's /D parameter. to change the drive as well as the directory.

    CD [/D] [drive:][path]

    Example

    C:\> CD /D E:\mydir

    CD /? (well, anycommand /?) is your friend, each time you have a new operating system to see if they've changed anything (but /D has been in there for several versions, now...)
    BATcher

    If it wasn't for the weather, Great Britain would be a silent nation.

  8. #7
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    6,058
    Thanks
    196
    Thanked 765 Times in 699 Posts
    BATcher,

    Gee, I've been using this stuff since my first Radio Shack Model 1 (yeah I know not MS DOS but for historical perspective ) and I never knew CD had a /D parameter. Guess you're never to OLD to learn! Thanks!

    As I've been known to say when teaching classes you can safely call anyone who says "I know everything about computers" a liar.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    VBA Rules!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs


  9. #8
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    2,820
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 108 Times in 102 Posts
    Hence my user name!
    BATcher

    If it wasn't for the weather, Great Britain would be a silent nation.

  10. #9
    Silver Lounger mrjimphelps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,137
    Thanks
    202
    Thanked 206 Times in 198 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BATcher View Post
    You forget CD's /D parameter. to change the drive as well as the directory.

    CD [/D] [drive:][path]

    Example

    C:\> CD /D E:\mydir

    CD /? (well, anycommand /?) is your friend, each time you have a new operating system to see if they've changed anything (but /D has been in there for several versions, now...)
    I've never used the /D parameter.

    What do you know. I learned some DOS in 2013!

  11. #10
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,506
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 220 Times in 208 Posts
    I always use "dir E:" to ensure the drive is ready to roll. There is rarely a need to change to an external drive to copy / change etc.

    cheers, Paul

  12. #11
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    2,820
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 108 Times in 102 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul T View Post
    I always use "dir E:" to ensure the drive is ready to roll. There is rarely a need to change to an external drive to copy / change etc.
    That's very true, but on occasion it can be so much safer if you first change to the drive and directory you wish to involve in your processing. Otherwise the well-known "DEL *.* in the wrong directory" unhappiness can result...!
    BATcher

    If it wasn't for the weather, Great Britain would be a silent nation.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •