Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Edinburgh, UK
    Posts
    237
    Thanks
    24
    Thanked 50 Times in 22 Posts

    IGFXTRAY.EXE - Windows cannot find

    On start-up, Windows 7 gives me an error message - "Windows cannot find 'C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\IGFXTRAY.EXE'. Make sure you typed the name correctly, and then try again."

    Trouble is, Windows Explorer shows that igfxtray.exe IS in this path. Can anyone tell me what may be going on? Do I have a problem? I am not aware of any problem.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    4,486
    Thanks
    284
    Thanked 574 Times in 478 Posts
    It's possibly corrupt; it really shouldn't matter anyway, that file is effectively Intel's own version of the built-in Windows screen size/resolution tool; I always remove the startup pointer to it with Autoruns, CCleaner or MSConfig.

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by satrow View Post
    It's possibly corrupt; it really shouldn't matter anyway, that file is effectively Intel's own version of the built-in Windows screen size/resolution tool; I always remove the startup pointer to it with Autoruns, CCleaner or MSConfig.
    I totally agree. You can still access the Intel tool via the control panel if needed:

    Screenshot (11).png

  4. #4
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Edinburgh, UK
    Posts
    237
    Thanks
    24
    Thanked 50 Times in 22 Posts
    Thank you both. I have removed the startup pointer, as suggested, also unticked the "Tray Icon" box in Preferences of the Intel Graphics & Media CP icon.

    Igfxtray.exe is still on the C:\Windows\System32 path, and yet, each time I restart, the same error message arises.

    I have had a hard look in Event Viewer to see what is causing this, but cannot see any likely looking event occurring at the time the error message pops up.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    4,486
    Thanks
    284
    Thanked 574 Times in 478 Posts
    If you haven't done so already, try Autoruns to disable the trigger, it's most likely under the Logon or Scheduled Tasks tabs (I don't have a suitable machine here to check for the actual location(s)): http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/s.../bb963902.aspx

    If you hit Esc as Autoruns loads, then click Options > Filter options > check only Verify code signatures and Hide Windows entries > Rescan, it will be easier to check for corrupt/missing or unverified files as Windows entries won't show and any 'oddities' will be highlighted.

    If you'd like someone to check for you, do the above routine then 'Save as' the default Autoruns.arn file, zip that file (right-click it > Send to > Compressed folder) and attach it to a reply.

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to satrow For This Useful Post:

    JohnFleming (2013-08-05)

  7. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Edinburgh, UK
    Posts
    237
    Thanks
    24
    Thanked 50 Times in 22 Posts
    Satrow - many thanks. At a quick look through the Autoruns returns, I could find no entry for igfxtray.exe. Moreover, Autoruns' search facility showed no entry for igfxtray.exe.

    See attached the zipped version of the Autoruns saved file.

    Again, thanks for being willing to help.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  8. #7
    Super Moderator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    4,486
    Thanks
    284
    Thanked 574 Times in 478 Posts
    Ah, you have WinPatrol - check whether it's listed in there, delayed startups, perhaps?

    I'll give the Autoruns file a good study in ~15 minutes or so.

    EDIT: that's some heavyweight collection of startups, I'm not used to wading through so many

    I don't see it trying to load in there either; if WinPatrol hasn't delayed it - I think that's only available from the Pro version anyway - it's possible that something like the Dell 'Feature Enhancement Pack' is loading it.

    If none of the above are responsible, I think a CHKDSK /F /R followed by SFC /SCANNOW would be advisable, there may be minor errors on the disk that need repairing.

    Otherwise, I think the next step would be a Malware forum, their diag. tools and experts are best-placed to check out anomalies such as these.
    Last edited by satrow; 2013-08-05 at 17:39.

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to satrow For This Useful Post:

    JohnFleming (2013-08-11)

  10. #8
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Edinburgh, UK
    Posts
    237
    Thanks
    24
    Thanked 50 Times in 22 Posts
    Satrow - I did as suggested, CHKDSK and SCANNOW. Neither reported any problems, but I have run for nearly a week, with several restarts, and no recurrence of the problem originally posted.

    Thanks for leading me through this, to a solution, though I can not see what exactly I did to eliminate the problem.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •