Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 23
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    High memory usage, have to restart

    svchost.exe Service Host: Local System (Network Restricted)
    is using a large amount of memory - 134-135 mb
    windows 8
    12gb memory and it causes 90% or more to be used
    suggestions?

  2. Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!

    Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Super Moderator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    2,045
    Thanks
    98
    Thanked 194 Times in 169 Posts
    Use Task Manager to find what's running inside svchost or visit a Malware forum to get checked out - they're my first thoughts.

    What 3rd party security software do you have, or have you previously had installed?

    Anything like HotSpotShield or other 3rd party software that ties in with the network?

    uTorrent or similar running?

  4. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    how do i use TM to do that
    AVG and Malware bytes
    nothing
    nope

    thanks

  5. #4
    Super Moderator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    2,045
    Thanks
    98
    Thanked 194 Times in 169 Posts
    Basics on TaskMan in W8 here: http://blogs.msdn.com/b/b8/archive/2.../10217443.aspx

    Specific to svchost.exe processes here: http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/tuto...-process/#win8

    Be careful, if you prevent a needed service from starting, you have a non-booting Windows

  6. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,179
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 560 Times in 500 Posts
    You stated that Svchost was using 134-135 mb out of 12GB. That is nothing. Besides using 90% of RAM is not necessarily a bad thing. Use Task Manager to get a better idea of what is using RAM. You can also use a tool such as Process Monitor to examine what is going on.

    Windows normally does a good job of managing RAM. What do you have running when you see this high usage?

    Joe

  7. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    i might have solved the problem, stopped using chrome and switched to firefox and usage is approx 60%

  8. #7
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    9,949
    Thanks
    126
    Thanked 1,100 Times in 1,012 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by blackbeard007 View Post
    i might have solved the problem, stopped using chrome and switched to firefox and usage is approx 60%
    Chrome was causing all that much memory to be used? May I ask how many tabs do you usually have open?
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  9. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    8 to 10

  10. #9
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    9,949
    Thanks
    126
    Thanked 1,100 Times in 1,012 Posts
    Chrome has a tool that allows you to see what is using memory. Click the icon that allows access to Chrome's settings, then choose View Background pages. This may give you info on what is using your memory. Likely it will point out to a rogue extension.

    10 tabs causing a 30% increase (3.6 GB) in used RAM is crazy. Something must be wrong.
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  11. #10
    Super Moderator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    2,045
    Thanks
    98
    Thanked 194 Times in 169 Posts
    I wonder whether this may have been as a result of some resident security software 'interference', what security are you running?

  12. #11
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    i stopped it from running background aps after it closes
    in chrome with 2 tabs open, there are 12 instances of chrome running
    windows defender and antimaleware

  13. #12
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    9,949
    Thanks
    126
    Thanked 1,100 Times in 1,012 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by blackbeard007 View Post
    i stopped it from running background aps after it closes
    in chrome with 2 tabs open, there are 12 instances of chrome running
    windows defender and antimaleware
    My question was whether you checked the memory of each background task and Chrome instance.
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  14. #13
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    in settings i searched for background and found on this

    Continue running background apps when Google Chrome is closed

    which i disabled

    that is all i could find

  15. #14
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    hope this helps

    service host: local system (network restricted) (8) 153.4mb
    windows driver foundation - user-mode driver framework
    portable device enumerator service
    diagnostic system host
    superfetch
    program compatability assistant service
    home group listener
    device association service
    windows autio endpoint builder

  16. #15
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    9,949
    Thanks
    126
    Thanked 1,100 Times in 1,012 Posts
    You don't actually go into settings. You click the icon I highlighted in the image below and choose View background pages in the menu that shows up.

    CaptureChrome.PNG
    Rui
    -------
    R4

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •