Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Win 7 64 bit won't sleep no matter what I say...

    Hi, folks. My Win 7 64 bit computer (homebrew, ASUS mb, 16 GB memory, ASUS Xonar sound card, XFX R7900 AMD video) won't go to sleep when I tell it to. I'm setting in with the power options in Control Panel. The video monitor will go to sleep when I tell it to but the computer won't. Once in a while, it will but never consistently. Any ideas? Thanks!

    Erik The Pope

  2. #2
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,202
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 215 Times in 202 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Erik The Pope View Post
    but the computer won't. Once in a while, it will but never consistently. Any ideas? Thanks!
    Erik,
    Hello... Try going into the "Advanced Settings" and have a look around..Something may be waking the PC ...Scans from security , etc. Regards Fred
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by Just Plain Fred; 2013-08-05 at 19:27.
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Fred, I went to the advanced options & changed something so we'll see. Unless something was keeping it from sleeping at all, I'm not sure this will work...

    Erik The Pope

  4. #4
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,792
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    From a Command prompt, try
    powercfg -energy

    This generates a report that, among other things, can possibly point out some common sleep problems.

    Jerry

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Did that but neither Firefox nor IE will read it. Says: Firefox can't find the file at /C:/Windows/System32/energy-report.html. ???

  6. #6
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,792
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    Drop the first / in the web address. A quicker way to get the report is to click on the start menu, typer energy-report and the item will show up in the search results under the Files heading. Double click on it.

    Jerry

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Did both, still no joy...

  8. #8
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,202
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 215 Times in 202 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Erik The Pope View Post
    Did both, still no joy...

    Erik,
    Hello... Another thing that you could try just in the case that some system file is corrupt .

    1. From an "elevated command prompt" (right click "Run as Administrator") and input the command "sfc /scannow" No quotes and a space after sfc. ( system file checker) If something is wrong with one of your files, this will fix it.. Good step when trying to figure out a problem Regards Fred
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  9. #9
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,792
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    Try using windows explorer (not internet explorer), open the c drive and move to:
    C:\Windows\System32

    Is the file listed there? If so, double click on it.

    Jerry

  10. #10
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    4,746
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 649 Times in 572 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Erik The Pope View Post
    The video monitor will go to sleep when I tell it to but the computer won't.
    If the display is sleeping how can you tell that the computer is not?

    Bruce

  11. #11
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Will try the "elevated command prompt" scan soon. Bruce, the computer will tell me if it's asleep by it being silent & the blue LED blinking. Doesn't matter about the monitor.

  12. #12
    WS Lounge VIP mrjimphelps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,396
    Thanks
    445
    Thanked 404 Times in 376 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jwitalka View Post
    From a Command prompt, try
    powercfg -energy

    This generates a report that, among other things, can possibly point out some common sleep problems.

    Jerry
    Maybe I should run that one on myself!

  13. #13
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    4,746
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 649 Times in 572 Posts

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •