Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: IE8 "no addons"

  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    IE8 "no addons"

    dEAR MEMBERS,
    vERY GRATEFUL IF ANYONE CAN FIX THIS FOR ME AND EVERYONE.
    after re-installing the OS Internet explorer 8 installed but an orange bar runns accross the pages over the information bar area in the administrators' account from which all the updates etc were installed;
    IT READS "U R RUNNING WITH NO ADDONS-GIVES 3 OPTIONS-"MANAGE ADDONS,DELETE, INSTALL" NONE OF WHICH FIXIT; IN sTART MENU IT SAYS "IE-nO ADDONS"
    WENT ON mICROSOFT COMMUNITY TRIED EVERYTHING.
    pLEASE ADVISE;
    iS THERE A QUICK FIX?
    iF NOT, CAN i DELETE THIS ADMIN UNUSEABLE ACCOUNT?
    oR SHALL i NOT USE IT?
    It does not appear in my other admin account or my limited account-but nor did most of the updates!
    now they arrived however unable to use the admin account with the orange bar
    THANKS
    AVIVA

  2. Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!

    Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,371
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 593 Times in 530 Posts
    Is this when you go to Start | All Programs? Normally there is a shortcut for Internet Explorer there.

    Joe

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to JoeP517 For This Useful Post:

    avivamax (2013-08-15)

  5. #3
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    2,719
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 333 Times in 302 Posts

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to BruceR For This Useful Post:

    avivamax (2013-08-15)

  7. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    thanks mucho Joe-Simply deleted that account and no problems with IE in remaining 2 accounts.

  8. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    thanks v much Bruce yes I'd tried those fixes - and more-nothing worked so deleted that account and my 2 remaining accounts run with a normal IE - the password on that account changed itself 3 times, plus there were increasing oddities..-maybe it was spyware -whatever! deleting the account worked!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •