Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pittsford,NY
    Posts
    712
    Thanks
    319
    Thanked 26 Times in 20 Posts

    How to replace IE10 with IE9 in W7

    How do I fall back to IE9 from IE10? I went to "Programs" and then "Turn Windows features on or off"; and unchecked the box for IE10. When I rebooted, after it did its thing, there was no "IE9."

    I had previously downloaded the install package for IE9; but when I tried to install IE9, it told me IE9 was already installed on my machine.

    When I looked in my Programs folder there's a folder called "Internet Explorer" with various items in there, but no iexplore.exe.

    So, how does one replace IE10 with IE9?

    Thanks,
    Dick

    PS,
    I want to revert because some of the sites I use have problems with IE10, and I have had to install Firefox just to go to those few sites. It may be heresy to some but I much prefer IE, and ultimately when I get IE9 back I'll uninstall FF.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    4,996
    Thanks
    71
    Thanked 574 Times in 520 Posts
    Did you try Compatability view on those IE 10 sites you had problems with?

    Jerry

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pittsford,NY
    Posts
    712
    Thanks
    319
    Thanked 26 Times in 20 Posts
    Jerry:
    Yes, and no joy. One of these sites is a banking site through which I pay bills, and that's probably the main reason I want to go back.
    Dick

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,655
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 635 Times in 568 Posts
    If you uninstall IE10 it should revert to the prior installed version.

    Joe

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    10,406
    Thanks
    131
    Thanked 1,167 Times in 1,071 Posts
    Dick, if you press F12 in IE 10, you open the Developer Tools for IE. The rightmost menu is the Document mode menu. It will allow you to choose how IE behaves. You can make it behave as IE 9, 8, 7, even IE 5. This is usually enough to make IE 10 work with any site you can find.

    CaptureI10F12.JPG
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pittsford,NY
    Posts
    712
    Thanks
    319
    Thanked 26 Times in 20 Posts
    Joe:
    That's my problem in a nutshell. It didn't.

    Ruirib:
    I'll give that a try and report back.

    Dick

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pittsford,NY
    Posts
    712
    Thanks
    319
    Thanked 26 Times in 20 Posts
    Joe:
    My bad. As I said above: "I went to "Programs" and then "Turn Windows features on or off"; and unchecked the box for IE10. When I rebooted, after it did its thing, there was no "IE9."

    Thinking about your last response, this time I went to Windows Update and uninstalled the IE10 update. On rebooting, I now have IE9.

    Thanks to both you and Ruirib,
    Dick

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,655
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 635 Times in 568 Posts
    Great!! Glad you got it resolved. Thanks for posting back.

    Joe

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •