Results 1 to 13 of 13
  • Thread Tools
  1. Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    54
    Thanks
    42
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Post Windows Defender Turning On problem

    Can anybody suggest how to open Windows Defender once it has been turned off? I keep getting this every time I try:
    defender.JPG
    I have tried in control panel, from settings and searching in Windows 8; all to no avail, the only response I get is the above pop up window.
    Any help wold be greatly appreciated as I have been having trouble with some "hijack" viruses of late.
    Bob

  2. Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!

    Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. 2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    NY state
    Posts
    117
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
    Change to a real AV program. I dumped Defender because it shut itself off several times. It also frequently does poorly comparison tests to other AV software.
    Joe

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to Joe S For This Useful Post:

    casso (2013-08-10)

  5. Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    2,402
    Thanks
    73
    Thanked 301 Times in 274 Posts
    It doesn't work if you go to Control Panel, Action Center, Spyware and unwanted software protection (Important), Windows Defender is turned off, Turn on now?

    Can you search for Windows Defender on the Start screen, start the program, then use the Settings tab to Turn on real-time protection?

    Bruce

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to BruceR For This Useful Post:

    casso (2013-08-10)

  7. Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 928 Times in 851 Posts
    If it still does not turn itself on after following the steps outlined by BruceR, something might be corrupt. If so perhaps running sfc /scannow will find and fix any corrupt system files.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to Medico For This Useful Post:

    casso (2013-08-10)

  9. Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    4,210
    Thanks
    55
    Thanked 474 Times in 425 Posts
    Do you have a System Restore point where Defender was working you could use?

    Jerry

  10. The Following User Says Thank You to jwitalka For This Useful Post:

    casso (2013-08-10)

  11. Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    54
    Thanks
    42
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    I have tried restoring from a restore point but the restore process fails saying it could not find a file (perhaps this is due to the malware currently trying to get rid of also).
    Will try running sfc/scannow
    TX to all
    Bob

  12. 2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    NY state
    Posts
    117
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
    Look a at MS they have a vervion of Defender that you burn to disk and boot from that. Also try downloading MBAM http://www.malwarebytes.org/ Defender is not the greatest AV it was decertified earlier this year by AV-Test.org.
    Joe

  13. The Following User Says Thank You to Joe S For This Useful Post:

    casso (2013-08-10)

  14. Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    4,210
    Thanks
    55
    Thanked 474 Times in 425 Posts
    Try running SFC /SCANNOW from an elevated command prompt as Ted (Medico) suggested.

    Jerry

  15. The Following User Says Thank You to jwitalka For This Useful Post:

    casso (2013-08-10)

  16. Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    4,210
    Thanks
    55
    Thanked 474 Times in 425 Posts
    Also, running Malwarebytes as suggested above is a good idea. Many of the new viruses will disable most AV programs including Defender. Go to Safe Mode with Networking, dowload it and run a full scan after updating signatures.

    Jerry

  17. The Following User Says Thank You to jwitalka For This Useful Post:

    casso (2013-08-10)

  18. Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    54
    Thanks
    42
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Still getting the original message. I am running AVG Free 2013 and I also use Reimage. I don't won't to disable AVG in particular, as I have found it to be good at solving any problems. I wonder if that is why Defender won't "activate" on my PC? If so, I will forget it.
    Bob

  19. Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    2,187
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 208 Times in 168 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by casso View Post
    Still getting the original message. I am running AVG Free 2013 and I also use Reimage. I don't won't to disable AVG in particular, as I have found it to be good at solving any problems. I wonder if that is why Defender won't "activate" on my PC? If so, I will forget it.
    Bob
    This is pretty much the default behavior; installing a second AV usually disables Windows Defender.

    My personal preference is Windows Defender, but we all have our reasons for doing what we do.
    Create a new drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "Let them that don't want it have memories of not gettin' any." "Gratitude is riches and complaint is poverty and the worst I ever had was wonderful." Brother Dave Gardner "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else." Sir Thomas Robert Deware. "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Do you understand?" Captain Jack Sparrow.
    Unleash Windows

  20. The Following User Says Thank You to bbearren For This Useful Post:

    casso (2013-08-11)

  21. Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 928 Times in 851 Posts
    As bbearren suggests, running 2 different AV apps can present problems. In order to do so, both have to have the other exempted, which can present it's own problems. Better just not to do so. WD is automatically disabled when another AV app is installed. Since you have AVG 2013 (I also use this AV app on our PCs) do not worry about WD being disabled, it should be!
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  22. The Following User Says Thank You to Medico For This Useful Post:

    casso (2013-08-11)

  23. Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    54
    Thanks
    42
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Okay I will rely upon AVG 2013, which did do its job for me in picking the infected files. I am also using Reimage which I run manualy each week. I think I will leave it at that.
    Once again thanks to all who posted for me. Happy computing!
    Bob

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •