Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    San Juan, Puerto Rico, USA
    Posts
    38
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Question What does Win 8 refresh do?

    What does the refresh without affecting your files do, as compared with a fresh reinstall?

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    It will maintain all your documents, files, etc and it will also maintain your Windows 8 native apps.
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    See the latest edition of the Windows Secrets Newsletter. Fred Langa has an article explaining the Refresh very well.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  4. #4
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    It will also remove all of your "desktop" installed applications.
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    4,756
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 653 Times in 576 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by CLiNT View Post
    It will also remove all of your "desktop" installed applications.
    Unless you wait for Part 2 (using recimg.exe):

    By default, desktop apps are removed when you refresh a Windows 8-based computer, unless you create a custom image.

    Bruce

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BruceR View Post
    If you do that, how much of a refresh will it be? Are you just returned you to a full system state as it was at the time of the custom image, thus not being a real refresh, or are your settings and app config, etc., used to recreate everything from scratch?
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  7. #7
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    4,756
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 653 Times in 576 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ruirib View Post
    If you do that, how much of a refresh will it be? Are you just returned you to a full system state as it was at the time of the custom image, thus not being a real refresh, or are your settings and app config, etc., used to recreate everything from scratch?
    Good point.

    The command line help for recimg says, "The recimg.exe command line tool lets you configure a custom recovery image for Windows to use when you refresh your PC. When you create a custom recovery image, it will contain the desktop apps you've installed, and the Windows system files in their current state. Recovery images do not contain your documents, personal settings, user profiles, or apps from Windows Store, because that information is preserved at the time you refresh your PC."

    Bruce

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BruceR View Post
    Good point.

    The command line help for recimg says, "The recimg.exe command line tool lets you configure a custom recovery image for Windows to use when you refresh your PC. When you create a custom recovery image, it will contain the desktop apps you've installed, and the Windows system files in their current state. Recovery images do not contain your documents, personal settings, user profiles, or apps from Windows Store, because that information is preserved at the time you refresh your PC."

    Bruce
    Yes, I guess that would be the easy way to do it. It's really "our" standard imaging in new clothing.
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  9. #9
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    San Juan, Puerto Rico, USA
    Posts
    38
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    How do you go about creating a custom image?

  10. #10
    WS Lounge VIP Browni's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Rochdale, UK
    Posts
    1,656
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 161 Times in 139 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mikethekey View Post
    How do you go about creating a custom image?
    See Bruce's link posted earlier in this thread.

    Quote Originally Posted by BruceR View Post
    Last edited by Browni; 2013-08-27 at 22:48.

  11. #11
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    There are many threads contained within the Maintenance Forum that discuss the details on what apps to use and how to create Images. In fact there are a couple of older threads that list Step by Step instructions for both Acronis True Image (an older version) and Macrium Reflect that seem reasonably appropriate today as well.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  12. #12
    Bronze Lounger DrWho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    1,501
    Thanks
    30
    Thanked 205 Times in 163 Posts
    All too often, what's OLD is NEW again.

    I just used a program today, to clone my main hard drive to a backup drive.
    The program was originally written in 1997, and just improved some to accommodate
    the new style MBR of Vista and Win 7, 8, etc.
    It still runs in (now hang on to your hat!) DOS!

    It will back up a whole drive, or just one Partition and will compress the resultant image, or NOT compress it. It's my choice and there are even two levels of compression.
    High Compression is great when backing up a partition to DVD's. It saves a lot of space.
    God, I love that program.

    On thing that's seldom mentioned, but something I ALWAYS do, is to clean up the drive before running a backup. My own cleanup routine takes over 5 gig's of junk out of the resulting backup.
    Besides the standard cleanup, I also delete the Pagefile and all the old Restore Points.
    If you have a Whole Drive backup, you don't need a bunch of OLD restore points. Eh?

    The Doctor
    Experience is truly the best teacher.

    Backup! Backup! Backup! GHOST Rocks!

  13. #13
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    I do something similar in that I boot to my Acronis Boot Disk to both create and restore my Images. In this way Windows is not a part of the equation. Since this works splendidly for my why change a winning app. Even though Acronis advertises it works from within Windows, and even though I did try it once from within Windows, and even though others have great success running it from within Windows, I choose to boot to the Boot Disk to take windows out of the equation. In my mind this is too important to take any chances on something within Windows causing a corrupted Image. Just ain't worth it to me.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •