Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Oxfordshire, UK
    Posts
    105
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Corrupted Task Scheduler

    I have bee using Win 7 Home Premium for 9 months now but have never set up a scheduled task using Task Scheduler. Today I have tried to set up a schedule but on opening Task Scheduler I received the two messages attached. I by-passed these and duly set up my schedule but after clicking on 'Finish' received the same two messages again and the new task did not appear on the list.

    I have checked taskschd.msc and taskschd.dll at Virus Total and they are clean.

    Help please!
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Oxfordshire, UK
    Posts
    105
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thank you ruirib.

    As in the reference you give, there is no User-Feed_synchronisation or mcupdate_scheduled listed in the Task Scheduler Library and they are also not listed under System32\Tasks.

    I also tried running 'msfeedssync enable' but this made no difference.

    Anyone else have any suggestions?

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    mcupdate... should be in C:\Windows\System32\Tasks\Microsoft\Windows\Media Center. The other one is usually located in the C:\Windows\System32\Tasks\ folder. I have two there.

    All tasks are kept in tasks or a subfolder of tasks. Find them and delete them.
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Oxfordshire, UK
    Posts
    105
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hi again,

    I actually went back and tried to find the missing items again and found the user feed under Tasks and deleted it, ran the enabling bit and the error message had disappeared. However the mcupdate was still there and I eventually traced this to Media Centre and deleted that as well. Will this affect Media Centre in any way? I tried mcupdate_scheduled enable but this was rejected.

    I have run media centre and all seems to be in order including updating my TV Guide. What does mcupdate actually do?
    Last edited by KenWA; 2013-08-16 at 07:20.

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    mcupdate_schedule will check if there are media center updates available. If you want to recreate it, this is the command line:

    %SystemRoot%\ehome\mcupdate with these arguments -crl -hms -pscn 15
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to ruirib For This Useful Post:

    KenWA (2013-08-16)

  8. #7
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Oxfordshire, UK
    Posts
    105
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thank you ruirib, all is back to normal and my recent addition is there as well.

  9. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Great, I am glad it's all sorted .
    Rui
    -------
    R4

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •