New Lounger
    Thanks

Windows 7 image / usb boot key

Hi all,

a complete newbie, so bear with me if I make some faux pas.

I realise that there is a lot of this subject around but and idiot proof guide would really help me.

Background - I work in a school where there are tons of netbooks kicking around.

I need to find out how to create a bootable usb key that contains windows 7 (both 32 and 64bit) and office 2010 as standard features. That means that if I need to reformat a machine I can simply grab the reboot usb key and load the OS windows 7 and office from the key in one go. I can activate both later after the formatting.

I have worked out how to make a bootable usb, but only with the windows 7 os. I can't get it to also contain the office 10 package as well and that would be a great help.

I have heard a great deal about Acronis, but until now haven't got it to do what I want. My ultimate desire would be to use the one remaining boot key I have. Reformat a machine. upgrade the office 07 to 2010 and then use that as the base image for all subsequent machines. That way I would have all the relevant drivers etc. already at hand, having everything I need on four usbs (two with 32 bit and 2 with 64 bit)

Can anyone point me in a good direction with lots and lots of idiot proof directions?

Thanks,

Tim in Copenhagen

5 Star Lounger
    Thanks

Cool

you could try creating an image of your system when all is set up and working properly. Save it to an external HDD or large USB memory stick.
    You could then use your win 7 USB stick to do a restore from the second USB stick or HDD with the saved image on, Win 7 has good built in image creation and restore functions.
    Clive

All typing errors are my own work and subject to patents pending. Except errors by the spell checker. And that has its own patients.

Thanks