Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Silver Lounger Banyarola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Big Indian, New York
    Posts
    1,854
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 63 Times in 52 Posts

    DSL Or Cable High Speed ???

    I'm connected remotely to a friends computer and would like to know how I can tell if they have DSL or high cable speed internet...??

    The remote computer is using wireless...

    I have snooped around and nothing I can find will let me know what their internet service is...

    Thanks
    "If You Are Reading This In English, Thank A VET"

  2. Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!

    Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Super Moderator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    2,093
    Thanks
    102
    Thanked 205 Times in 179 Posts
    Their IP address may furnish clues, that can usually be found in your software's logs once a connection has been made; look the IP up somewhere that gives a reasonable amount of background information, I use Domain Tools.

  4. #3
    Silver Lounger Banyarola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Big Indian, New York
    Posts
    1,854
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 63 Times in 52 Posts
    I can't get access to the logs and I don't have the wireless password.

    Unless you are talking about some other logs.
    "If You Are Reading This In English, Thank A VET"

  5. #4
    Super Moderator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    2,093
    Thanks
    102
    Thanked 205 Times in 179 Posts
    The logs for the software on your machine that you use to connect ...

  6. #5
    Silver Lounger Banyarola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Big Indian, New York
    Posts
    1,854
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 63 Times in 52 Posts
    I just checked the IP and it didn't show what I need.
    "If You Are Reading This In English, Thank A VET"

  7. #6
    Super Moderator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    2,093
    Thanks
    102
    Thanked 205 Times in 179 Posts
    Your IP as well as my own, show clearly what our connections are likely to be - can't tell anything about actual speeds that way though. Some IP's are not so easy to translate into connection type, you'd need to ask prior to or during the connection in those cases.

    If you PM me with the IP, I could take a look?

  8. #7
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    2,081
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 235 Times in 228 Posts
    Fire up the web cam and see if there's a letterhead from the cable or phone company lying about.

  9. #8
    Silver Lounger Banyarola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Big Indian, New York
    Posts
    1,854
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 63 Times in 52 Posts
    I told her to put tape on it..
    "If You Are Reading This In English, Thank A VET"

  10. #9
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    4,574
    Thanks
    65
    Thanked 519 Times in 468 Posts
    you could also open up an elevated command prompt on the target machine and do a tracert to an known website:
    tracert microsoft.com.

    The first few hops should show her ISP.

    Jerry

  11. #10
    Silver Lounger Banyarola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Big Indian, New York
    Posts
    1,854
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 63 Times in 52 Posts
    Thanks jerry but I am just gonna tell her to call her provider and see what she has.

    I think it's DSL because a speed test shows low speeds.
    "If You Are Reading This In English, Thank A VET"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •