Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 26
  1. #1
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,306
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    IE6 Extra Zone (IE6)

    In both Win 2kP and XPP, I have suddenly acquired an extra Zone in Security Settings. It's called 'Your Computer'. Adding sites to it seems to put them into a very restricted-type category. In XP the Custom Level and Default Level are greyed out and there seems to be no way of telling what is set to what. In 2kp Custom Level can be set. But what is it for? I do not seem to be able to get rid of it. What appear to be the relevant entries in the Registry (HKLM/Software/Microsoft/Windows/Current Version/Internet Settings/Zones) have no apparent effect. Anybody know anything about it?

  2. #2
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IE6 Extra Zone (IE6)

    This could have come from several places -- but usually this is put there by the user -- and you have no recolllection, correct?

    One of the more frequent sources is the "XSetup" program which is similar to TweakUI -- only lightyears more powerful. Do you use that? Then, I think AnalogX -- or some other freeware house -- made a new zone that was "Very Restricted". I cannot find it on the AnalogX site, so it must be someone else... I know Steve Gibson talks about this somewhere deep in the bowels of the GRC site.

    What is the icon that you see? If it is a "gear", then it is the one that Mr. Gibson mentions.

    OK, first off, the settings will NOT be under HKLM unless you set a specific registry value. Instead, look here:
    HKEY_CURRENT_USERSoftwareMicrosoftWindowsCurrentVe rsionInternet SettingsZones
    --or--
    HKEY_USERS.DEFAULTSoftwareMicrosoftWindowsCurrentV ersionInternet SettingsZones

    They should be the same -- if you are the only user. In these keys you should see six sub-keys number 0-5. Check out the DisplayName of each of these and you will find:

    0 - My Computer
    1 - Local intranet
    2 - Trusted sites
    3 - Internet
    4 - Restricted sites
    5 - **NOT "Your Computer"**

    Now, the sixth sub-key -- #5 -- is the "zone" in question, but IE6 screws up the display name and shows "Your Computer" no matter what name exists here. The DisplayName may be "Advertising sites" or something if it is the same as Gibson uses.

    You will also note that IE6 screws up the "Description" string. This should appear on the Security tab as well -- next to where the icon appears as you select the zone. Instead of displaying the "Description" text, IE6 again screws up and says "Your Computer" -- in bold.

    Take a look around and you will see how this is correct.
    ___________________

    Lastly, if you look into the "Sites" section for this zone on the Security tab -- and no sites are listed, you can feel free to delete the "5" sub-folder from above and this zone will disappear.

  3. #3
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,306
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IE6 Extra Zone (IE6)

    Hi
    Entirely correct. I'd used XTeQ to try and set up a 'Tracking Sites' Zone (which never appeared). Now I know why.
    The 'Your Computer' icon serves no useful purpose in XP, since you can't find out what its settings are. To get rid of it I deleted the Zones entry in HKCU, and the usual ones came back. Are MS going to patch IE6 to make the 5th icon option useful, I wonder? The icon is a standard IE variety with keys.
    ps I would like to add another button to the toolbar to add sites to the Internet Zone - as I sometimes put them into 'Trusted' temporarily, and a quick way of getting 'em out again would be convenient. I can't find the CLSID needed for this to be done (by analogy with those needed for Trusted and Restricted sites). Is there information on this?

    Rgds

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IE6 Extra Zone (IE6)

    I spent (wasted) several days time trying to figure out how to add the Internet zone and any "new" zones to my button bar. It would take more skills than I possess. It appeared to me that the only way to get this to work would be to modify some of the MS DLL's -- and that is quite beyond me. The only reason the Trusted and Restricted sites work is because of the "Web Accessories" for IE5 supply us with the modified DLL's.

    People have written MS about the IE6 and "new zone" irregularities (bugs). But, as usual Microsoft has not given us any information.

    There is a cool program -- albeit not perfect -- called "IE Zone Editor". This creates new zones in IE. However, with IE6 it does not work -- precisely for the reasons I outline above. The author of the program has been complaining to MS from very early on...

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Youngstown, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    705
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IE6 Extra Zone (IE6)

    Here's something that you may have overlooked (or is at least worth mentioning again...). The 'Local Intranet' zone can be used as an extra customizeable zone as well. Bring up the 'Local Intranet' zone, click on 'Sites', and then 'Advanced'. This will give you the standard site entry screen. These sites will then have all the same restrictions (or lack thereof) that you have set for your 'Local Intranet'. If you are on a stand-alone PC, you can use this zone for an "anything goes" security setting, and then keep your 'Trusted' zone for a somewhat more secure setting -- quickly available for temporary trusting & removal.

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IE6 Extra Zone (IE6)

    That is correct and very good advice. Only people who use a LAN would have to think twice before doing this.

    There are two more things that might interest you:

    1) To quickly remove a site that you are visiting from the Trusted sites list, double-click the "Trusted sites" rectangle that appears at the far right end of the "Status Bar" on the bottom of your IE Window. This is a shortcut to the Security tab. Select the Sites button and the most recently entered site will be at the bottom of the list. Delete it and close the window. This is not as fast as a button on the tool bar, but it really is not so bad...

    2) In IE6, Cookie control for any Zone other than the "Internet zone" is fairly challenging. By default, IE6 accepts all cookies into all non-"Internet zone" zones except the Restricted sites. So if one does use these "new" zones -- like the XTeQ one or any others -- be prepared that the cookies cannot be easily blocked in these zones. This is much different than in IE5 where it was fairly simple...

  7. #7
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,306
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IE6 Extra Zone (IE6)

    Yes,that works fine. The icon can be changed via the Registry, but the name stays 'Intranet Zone'. Removing Zone 0 in the Registry tidies things up.

    <img src=/S/cheers.gif border=0 alt=cheers width=30 height=16>

  8. #8
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IE6 Extra Zone (IE6)

    I am not entirely sure you want to remove Zone 0 -- "My Computer". It is a viable zone and one that is necessary. Some people even recommend making it visible on the Security tab and setting some of the items like AcitveX to "Prompt". Personally I leave it alone.

  9. #9
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,306
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IE6 Extra Zone (IE6)

    Ok, how? I can get Zone 5 up on the security tab using XTeQ (but this is of no practical use - you cannot change the settings in XP - Custom Level etc. greyed out. All you can do is add sites, but then you don't know what level you're putting them to).
    I have not been able to find how to make Zone O appear.

    Rgds

  10. #10
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IE6 Extra Zone (IE6)

    OK -

    XTeQ went overboard in making the Zone "unconfigurable". I don't see the purpose of that. This is the simpliest way to do this:

    To make the New Zone like your Restricted sites zone, simply Export the entire #4 key to your desktop. Open this .reg file in Notepad. Modify the zone in several ways -- change the name of the key to "5" (instead of "4"). Then go in and modify the "DisplayName" and the "Description" entries. Even modify the icon to be the same as the one you have in your present zone 5. When you are satisfied with your modifications, close this file and Merge it back into your Registry. You now have a fully functional zone 5 -- that works exactly like your Restricted sites. EXCEPT, the bloody Security tab will NOT display the name or description correctly -- as a stated above.

    To make the "My Computer" zone appear on the Security tab, open the "0" key and change the "Flags" value from 0x00000021 (33) to 0x00000001 (1).

  11. #11
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,306
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IE6 Extra Zone (IE6)

    Hi
    You probably knew this, but using the *.reg merge method you can set up as many zones as you want, and they will appear on your security bar. Presently I have 8. This means if you wanted to, you could give each site a unique set of security options. Pity about the displayed names.
    Zone 0, (My Computer) as it stands : you can change the Custom Level of Security, but If you set the security too high, some drives will not open properly.

    Rgds

  12. #12
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IE6 Extra Zone (IE6)

    Yes, I have experimented with multiple zones and I even created a "zoneicon.dll" file to hold my the icons I used for different zones. I have one zone called "Prompt zone" with everything at prompt. I use that for investigating what a given site is using. Then I have one called "MaxTrust" that is even more "enabled" than my Trusted sites zone is.

    The problem comes about with IE6 screwing up the Names. You might notice that the names ARE correct if they are displayed in the Status bar -- it is just that IE6 dissociates the Security tab from these registry entries. IE5 was NOT that way -- sad, the price of "progress"...

    I hope one day MS will fix this mess up. I look forward to you trying to figure out the IE6 Cookie mess! Cheers.

  13. #13
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,306
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IE6 Extra Zone (IE6)

    ...and let you add buttons to the Toolbar for quick addition and removal as for Restricted and Trusted, though I will not be holding my breath.
    Your Prompt Zone sounds like my usual Internet settings. You can't get more trusted that my Trusty Zone. All my Zones but My Computer have the security slide enabled. Why not that one?
    Would you happen to know if downloaded web pages, if opened on your system, would be included in My Computer? If so, I can see its point a a security measure.

    Rgds

  14. #14
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IE6 Extra Zone (IE6)

    I dislike "prompts" most of the time, so I have that as a special zone. My Internet zone is fairly Restricted. If I want to test a site before I add it to Trusted sites, I put it in my Prompt zone.

    I have Trusted sites a little less than Maximum so that my wife can add sites to that zone for her shopping purposes... Many store sites require Scripting or ActiveX, and there is no way to prevent my wife from shopping on line...

    These are all just personal decisions -- you can set it up however you like.

    I am not sure what the "Security slide" means. The "Security level for this zone" boxes are all set to "Custom" for me. The Privacy slider only works in the Internet zone.

    Yes, presumably if you download something on to your computer, THEN it becomes in the "My Computer" zone. So, scripting and ActiveX are all enabled by default in this zone. So, you could set these to "Prompt" in the My Computer zone. BUT... you might be surprised just what else on your computer is using this functions -- Norton/Symantec products use a lot, and even Windows Explorer!

    Just for the fun of it, set everything to 'Prompt' in My Computer and see what you find out. It may be enlighenting...

  15. #15
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IE6 Extra Zone (IE6)

    Add remove sites via toolbar buttons.... You mean like I did with Trust Setter?

    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.jasons-toolbox.com/ScriptRepository/default.asp?id=11>http://www.jasons-toolbox.com/ScriptReposi...fault.asp?id=11</A>

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •