Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    EasyBCD and a re-install of one of the O/S's

    I am running Win-7 and XP alongside each other. I am having issues with the XP sound, so I may have to re-install the XP. I don't much like that idea, but I don't know of another way to get it to recognize the audio hardware. Is there another way?

    If my EasyBCD is already set up to see both my Win-7 and the XP install, if I re-install the XP, can I just restore the EasyBCD setup, assuming I re-install the XP to the same partition?

    Chuck Billow
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  2. The Following User Says Thank You to CWBillow For This Useful Post:

    kaybee (2014-03-06)

  3. #2
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    3,760
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 424 Times in 338 Posts
    If you're having issues with the sound, it may well be driver related. Have you tried looking for an XP driver for your sound hardware?
    Create a fresh drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Savvy?"—Captain Jack Sparrow "When you're troubleshooting, start with the simple and proceed to the complex."—M.O. Johns "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else."—Sir Thomas Robert Deware.
    Unleash Windows

  4. #3
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bbearren View Post
    If you're having issues with the sound, it may well be driver related. Have you tried looking for an XP driver for your sound hardware?
    I did through the XP device driver update screen. There's a set of devices that are showing "?", but when I tried to find drivers, no luck. That's why I wondered about re-installing. Shouldn't XP drivers have loaded with the install? This desktop is several years old, so XP being outdated shouldn't have been an issue, should it?

    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  5. #4
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    3,760
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 424 Times in 338 Posts
    What I mean by "looking for an XP driver for your sound hardware" is going to the hardware manufacturer's site and looking for XP drivers specific for that hardware that are provided by the manufacturer.
    Create a fresh drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Savvy?"—Captain Jack Sparrow "When you're troubleshooting, start with the simple and proceed to the complex."—M.O. Johns "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else."—Sir Thomas Robert Deware.
    Unleash Windows

  6. #5
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    2,335
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 267 Times in 260 Posts
    Since it works on W7, you should be able to get all the information about the audio subsystem from the Device manager or Control Panel for sound and then look for XP drivers from whoever the audio chipset manufacturer is. Very often it's RealTek but maybe Sigma or Soundblaster or one or two others. Device manager hasn't really been very useful since Microsoft changed the way driver updates work. Windows Update optional hardware would be the way to go but not if the sound isn't properly detected, but there you have a leg up already because W7 obviously did.

    Also just in case there's a video card with HDMI in the system, XP could just be set to the wrong audio subsystem.

  7. #6
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,202
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 215 Times in 202 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by CWBillow View Post
    I am running Win-7 and XP alongside each other.

    If my EasyBCD is already set up to see both my Win-7 and the XP install, if I re-install the XP, can I just restore the EasyBCD setup, assuming I re-install the XP to the same partition?
    "Chuck-Key"

    Hello..It depends... If you install EasyBCD on both OS's ...whatever OS you reinstall "Easy" will still see the other ..That's why i always setup EasyBCD this way Regards Fred

    PS: What Issues?
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  8. #7
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
    Guys, I got sidetracked...I'll check the mfg.'s sites this week.

    Thanks,
    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •