Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger Jagworld's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    467
    Thanks
    79
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Help to install XP mode in win7pro

    Friend has new PC with win 7 pro and want to have his old XP in there 'running' that he has been using for years.

    Is there a certain way to do this or is it possible?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    3,760
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 424 Times in 338 Posts
    The MS VM with Windows 7 Pro can be used for the free downloadable MS Virtual XP (providing the hardware supports virtualization, and that it has been enabled in BIOS).

    If your friend's "old XP" was OEM pre-installed, it is married to the machine it came on. A Retail XP might be able to image from the machine it's running on and restored to the virtual hard drive in the Windows 7 Pro VM, but the virtual hard drive would have to be sized large enough to hold it, and the imaging software would also have to be able to restore to a virtual hard drive.
    Create a fresh drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Savvy?"—Captain Jack Sparrow "When you're troubleshooting, start with the simple and proceed to the complex."—M.O. Johns "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else."—Sir Thomas Robert Deware.
    Unleash Windows

  3. #3
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    This article has all the info you need to do it : http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/w...e-in-windows-7

    Once done, if you want to add the real XP disk and use it instead of this one, you can use disk2vhd to create a vhd from your friend's current disk and replace XP Pro's default disk with the one resulting from the conversion.
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  4. #4
    4 Star Lounger Jagworld's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    467
    Thanks
    79
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Does anyone know if Todo backup qualifies as a imaging software to be able to restore to a virtual hard drive?

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    S.F. Bay Area, California, USA
    Posts
    735
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 80 Times in 78 Posts
    V.6.0 of ToDo does (or do.)

    Zig

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    2,335
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 267 Times in 260 Posts
    I converted a ToDo image to VMWare virtual in version 5.6 but I had to research how to create the associated startup .vmx file before it would actually work. Haven't tried the P2V functions in 6.0 yet to see if that's done automatically now or not.
    If you have the original drive, Paragon's GoVirtual can create a VBox or VMWare VM sraight from the disk and it's free. It was my experience with both, that when creating a VM (at least for VMWare) in that manner, emulated audio and USB drive capture are not created in the VM. No cure for the audio as far as I know except when running the VM in remote desktop, bringing the audio to the host, and using locally shared folders (drives) to access any of the host drives from the VM; but out of luck as far as attaching and capturing non-drive peripherals goes.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •