Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 26
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Sterling Heights, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    633
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    How to fix "Error 5: Access is denied"

    Got a call from a non-profit group I assist, that one of their desktop PC's was acting up (Vista Home Basic 32-bit). First thing I noticed was that it wouldn't make a network connection. Right clicked on the network icon in the Taskbar and selected Diagnose and Repair. Got a message that Network Diagnostics cannot run because the Diagnostics Policy Service is not running. Opened Service Control Manager to try and start that service, and got a message that Windows could not start the service on Local Computer, followed by Error 5: Access is denied.

    A Full Scan with Malwarebytes and MS Security Essentials found nothing. From an F8 start, System Repair did not help, and every System Restore point I tried failed, as far back as they went. There's a Windows Update icon showing in the Taskbar, but when I try to open that, it shows Windows Update has never been run (and can't run now, of course, because networking is munged up). Computer Properties says SP2 is installed. Any suggestions?

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    Is the logon you are using a member of the Administrator group?


    Joe

  3. #3
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,202
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 215 Times in 202 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JJDetroit View Post
    Got a message that Network Diagnostics cannot run because the Diagnostics Policy Service is not running.. Any suggestions?
    JJ,

    Hello... Try Start> Run> net start dhcp... then OK out. ( Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol ) Also as Joe says sounds like a UAC \ Permissions problem ..check in control panel User Accounts. Regards Fred
    Last edited by Just Plain Fred; 2013-08-30 at 07:01.
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Sterling Heights, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    633
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by JoeP517 View Post
    Is the logon you are using a member of the Administrator group?


    Joe
    Yes.

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    What is the startup type for Diagnostic Policy Service?

    Joe

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Sterling Heights, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    633
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by JoeP517 View Post
    What is the startup type for Diagnostic Policy Service?

    Joe
    Automatic.

  7. #7
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    Have you checked the Event Log for information on why the service does not start on a boot?

    Joe

  8. #8
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Sterling Heights, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    633
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Just Plain Fred View Post
    JJ,

    Hello... Try Start> Run> net start dhcp... then OK out. ( Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol ) Also as Joe says sounds like a UAC \ Permissions problem ..check in control panel User Accounts. Regards Fred
    Using that command, I get "System error 5 has occurred. Access is denied." What am I supposed to be looking for in User Accounts?

  9. #9
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Sterling Heights, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    633
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by JoeP517 View Post
    Have you checked the Event Log for information on why the service does not start on a boot?

    Joe
    Am I supposed to use Event Viewer to check logs? If so, which specific log should I be looking at?

  10. #10
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,202
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 215 Times in 202 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JJDetroit View Post
    Using that command, I get "System error 5 has occurred. Access is denied." What am I supposed to be looking for in User Accounts?
    JJ,

    Hello... You want to look in "Add or Remove user Accounts " and see who is listed as "Administrator" and has permission...If there is no "Admin" you need to establish one. Regards Fred

    PS: Is there a "Run As Administrator" in the right click context menu?
    Last edited by Just Plain Fred; 2013-08-31 at 12:49.
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  11. #11
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    Yes, use the Event Viewer. Check the System log and the Application log.

    Joe

  12. #12
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Sterling Heights, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    633
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Just Plain Fred View Post
    JJ,

    Hello... You want to look in "Add or Remove user Accounts " and see who is listed as "Administrator" and has permission...If there is no "Admin" you need to establish one. Regards Fred

    PS: Is there a "Run As Administrator" in the right click context menu?
    There is only one account, and it is a member of Administrators. UAC is enabled. I checked a couple program shortcuts on the desktop, and Run As Administrator is there.

  13. #13
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Sterling Heights, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    633
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by JoeP517 View Post
    Yes, use the Event Viewer. Check the System log and the Application log.

    Joe
    The System log shows several entries "The DHCP client service has terminated with the following error: Access is denied." There are many error entries in the Applications log, but no pattern to them that I could see.

  14. #14
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,202
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 215 Times in 202 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JJDetroit View Post
    There is only one account, and it is a member of Administrators. UAC is enabled. I checked a couple program shortcuts on the desktop, and Run As Administrator is there.
    JJ,

    Hello... If the "Run AS doesn't work" see these " Services" Screen Shots. There might be a clue in them Regards Fred

    PS: You could also try "Taking Ownership" of that "Executable " in the "Path" shown in screen shot
    PPS: Use this method ( if not already available) for adding "Take Ownership " to Context Menu Method #1 or this one Winbubble
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by Just Plain Fred; 2013-09-01 at 13:31.
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  15. #15
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Sterling Heights, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    633
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    I didn't see anything useful in the screen shots, and although I used the Take Ownership reg hack to take ownership of the Windows\System32 folder, it didn't help either. Is there any way to do the equivalent of a System Repair in Vista, like I've done before in XP? If so, do you think it might fix this problem? I don't have a Vista Home Basic disk, but I'm sure I can track down an ISO of it.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •