Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Plagued by blogspot.com

    Somehow, my PC has been invaded by something called no1techblog on a site named blogspot.com. Whenever I start the computer, about a minute after the boot sequence completes, my IE10 is automatically starting and sending me to http://no1techblog.blogspot.com/. If I start IE10 myself before this occurs, it supplants the site I originally specified. If I close the BlogSpot screen, all returns to normal. I need to know how to rid myself of this problem. I have checked my homepage specification and it remains yahoo.com. I have looked at all the IE add-ons and find nothing that seems to relate to this. I have checked my programs list in Control Panel and find nothing. I have run two different security scans and the latest Windows Malicious Software scan to no effect. When I did a boot into Safe Mode, this did NOT occur. This appears to be related in some way to Google, as the screen displayed shows my gmail address. I NEVER use gmail on this PC, only on my smart phone. Please help!

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,543
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 614 Times in 550 Posts
    Use either [urlhttp://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/sysinternals/bb963902]Autoruns[/url] or WhatInStartup to see and manage what is started when you boot the system.

    Autoruns produces an enormous amount of information. You should be concerned with the Logon tab initially.

    If you don't recognize or are unsure of a program being started please post a screenshot of the list and someone here will help.

    Joe

  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    2,763
    Thanks
    80
    Thanked 340 Times in 307 Posts
    Possibly associated with an add-on called Play Music or Play Your Piano amongst other names:

    When I start Firefox the following website loads dozen of times: http://no1techblog.blogspot.com/ - How do I stop this?

    Does it happen if you start IE10 with "Internet Explorer (No Add-ons)" or "iexplore.exe -extoff"?

    Bruce
    Last edited by BruceR; 2013-09-11 at 11:09.

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks for responding. Unfortunately, I do not know how to do screenshots. I did a screen print using Print Key PRO to print out the output report from WhatsInStartup. I compared that manually with the on-screen report from Autoruns Logon tab. The two are pretty much in agreement. Autoruns shows one item that is not listed in WhatsIn. That is RESTART_STICKY_NOTES, the Windows app. All of the items in the WhatsIn list that are checked (assume that means they are in use) are also reflected in the Autoruns list, except: two Windows Mail entries (don't use Windows Mail) and Internet Explorer which is marked as file not found for reasons unknown.

    I recognize the applications and/or sources for most of the WhatsIn items. However there are a few that I don't, but these have no obvious connection to BlogSpot.com.

    I can probably figure out how to create a file with Print Screen that I can attach to an e-mail if that will help.

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 931 Times in 852 Posts
    If you just press the Prt Sc button on your keyboard, then Paste to MS Paint, you will have your screen shot. You can do some cropping, highlighting, etc. with Paint.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    OK. Thanks for the info on screen shots. If the Administrator needs one or more after he reads my reply, I'll try to send them.

  7. #7
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,543
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 614 Times in 550 Posts
    If all looks OK on the Logon tab in Autoruns now check the Internet Explorer tab.

    Joe

  8. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I wouldn't say that all looks OK on the Autoruns Logon tab, because I'm not totally sure what I'm looking for. I recognize either the Autorun Entry name, the Description, and/or the Publisher name for all of the checked items except:

    1. vProt : has description of VProtect Application but no publisher.
    2. lipo1 : has description of Module3 and no publisher.
    3. lipo2 : has description of ModuleValidator and no publisher.


    I also reviewed the Internet Explorer tab, but again, I'm not sure what I'm looking for. This is the only checked one I definitely don't recognize:
    Define: has no description, and no Publisher. It has a note of File not found.

    Any more suggestions?

  9. #9
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    2,763
    Thanks
    80
    Thanked 340 Times in 307 Posts
    Vprot belongs to AVG Toolbar: VProtect Application and the file vprot.exe are part of AVG Toolbar.

    Try disabling or deleting lipo1 and lipo2.

    Bruce

  10. #10
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Well, apparently the culprits were the lipos. Unchecked them in Autoruns and did a warm boot. No more automatic starting of IE10 and no more BlogSpot! Just to be safe, did a complete shutdown followed by a cold boot and no more automatic start of IE10 and no more BlogSpot! Thanks soooo much. I've been working on this for days, first trying Microsoft Community. Couldn't get a workable solution over there.

    Now what are the AVG Toolbar and the VProtect application? Do I need these? I don't recall installing them.

  11. #11
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 931 Times in 852 Posts
    They are optional portions of AVG AV and/or AVG Security suite. If you use the AVG Security Suite, or had the AVG AV installed previously, perhaps that is where these came from.

    Many of us use AVG AV. I chose not to get the whole suite, just the AV module.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  12. #12
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    As far as I know, I don't have AVG installed. If I did, it would appear on Control Panel>Programs and Features, right? I don't think I ever had it installed, unless it was an inadvertent side effect of some other download I did. If that happened, I probably uninstalled it as soon as I discovered it. I should be able to uncheck these items in Autoruns with no problem. Is this correct?

  13. #13
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,543
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 614 Times in 550 Posts
    Check the "Uninstall a program" list in the control panel again for something AVG related to see if you can uninstall the AVG toolbar.

    You could also try using the free version of Revo Uninstaller.

    Joe

  14. #14
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rechecked the Programs and Features list in Control Panel. Nothing AVG related found. Ran Revo. Results appear nearly identical to Programs and Features. Nothing AVG related found. I'm just going to uncheck the AVG items in Autoruns. Thanks again for all your help!

  15. #15
    Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Cornwall UK
    Posts
    45
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts
    Hi Don,

    AVG has become very bloated over the years and its Windows uninstaller does a very poor job of fully removing it – I’ve seen many systems left with numerous registry entries and 100mb+ of AVG files and folders after a supposed uninstall. Just because the AVG icon is no longer in your uninstall list doesn't mean that all AVG's junk has been removed. Same goes for many other well known programs, including McAfee, Norton, PandaAV and Adobe.

    Download the official AVG remover tool from the link below and just run it and then do a restart - it claims to get rid of everything AVG.
    http://www.softpedia.com/progDownloa...ad-119536.html

    Even after using that tool I’ve occasionally found the odd AVG remnant, but nothing of any real importance.

    Cheers, Chris

    P.S. As JoeP517 suggests, I usually uninstall everything with Revo Uninstaller, set on ‘Moderate’, and then in the case of known problems like AVG run the specialist official uninstaller – amazing what gets left behind!
    Industrial electrical engineer, running a system building/repair business in Cornwall, UK, for the last 14 years.

    Built my first computer in 1978 - in the days when you had to hand-solder in all the components!
    Until Windows 8, I thought we were still moving forwards!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •