Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Canberra, ACT, Australia
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Tabs crash or close in IE 10 in Windows 7 Pro

    I recently did a clean install of Windows 7 pro with IE9. I had problems so I upgraded to IE10. No improvement.

    I have googled extensively but found no solutions.

    I get messages such as:

    "Internet Explorer has stopped working.

    A problem caused the program to stop working correctly. Windows will close the program and notify you if a solution is available.

    Close program.

    A problem with the program caused Internet Explorer to close and reopen the Tab."

    These happen almost every time I open a link on a page.

  2. Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!

    Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,292
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 582 Times in 520 Posts
    Often IE problems are caused by addins. Have you tried running IE with addins disabled?

    Joe

  4. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Canberra, ACT, Australia
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks Joe

    I have disabled all add ons and had no problems so far.

    I will enable each separately and report results.

    Are there any add ons others have specially had difficulty with?

  5. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,292
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 582 Times in 520 Posts
    Used to be anti-virus addins that caused a lot of problems. Beyond that not sure. IMO, much depends on specific configuration.

    Joe

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to JoeP517 For This Useful Post:

    alexamac (2013-09-05)

  7. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Canberra, ACT, Australia
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I don't have any antivirus add-ons to IE10. I use Microsoft Security Essentials and Malwarebytes anti-malware.

    The add-ons I do have installed (but disabled at the moment) are:

    Freedownload manager

    Adobe shockware Flash object

    Adobe PDF
    Adobe PDF Conversion Toolbox
    Adobe Smart select class

    Freemake you tube button

    XML DOM document
    Windows media player
    Microsoft Silverlight

    Send to Onenote
    Research
    Freemake video downloader

    Dragon NaturallySpeaking Rich Internet application support-extension

    Skype add-on for Internet Explorer
    Skype click to call

    Nuance PDF
    plus IIEventhelper class
    Gaaiho PDF conversion tool bar helper

    Have any of these proved troublesome?

  8. #6
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 928 Times in 851 Posts
    That is a lot of add-ons! You might find that different add-ons are interacting in unexpected ways as well. You have a 2 or perhaps 3 different PDF helpers including a Toolbar (Adobe, Nuance and Gaaiho). This can sometimes cause a problem. Is there a reason you need all these various add-ons? I would just enable the add-ons you use a lot one at a time to see what happens. For example if you commonly use Adobe, then leave the other 2 disabled.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to Medico For This Useful Post:

    alexamac (2013-09-06)

  10. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Canberra, ACT, Australia
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks.

    After stopping all add ons, and trying to update Skype, it wouldn't open at all.

    So I reverted to the registry for a few days ago and installed firefox. Both are okay for now but haven't been properly tested yet.

    All the pdf programs were working in IE8. Their functionalities aren't the same, which is why I had them installed..

    I wonder whether using some 64bit programs may be an issue?

  11. #8
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Newtown, Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    59
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    I had a similar issue and tracked it down to a .DLL file associated with Microsoft's EMET. So I uninstalled EMET and so far so good.

  12. The Following User Says Thank You to kswan53 For This Useful Post:

    alexamac (2013-09-15)

  13. #9
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Davenport, Iowa, usa
    Posts
    80
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    I have been having the same problems with IE10 and I don't have those add-ins. Also the back arrow doesn't always work and I have to hold the mouse on the back button so I can skip over all the double click adds that seem to be imbedded. A lot of times even the links won't do anything when I click on them. They are just forcing me to Chrome.

  14. The Following User Says Thank You to xyiegphriedt For This Useful Post:

    alexamac (2013-09-15)

  15. #10
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Canberra, ACT, Australia
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I am still trying to track down exactly where the problems lie.

    I'm pretty sure that Skype click to call was a major one.

    Both of the PDF add-ons (Adobe and Nuance) seem to be okay.

  16. #11
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Alexamac, I recently had a problem when MS Download installed IE10 over IE9. I couldn't connect to the internet. I removed IE10 and went back to 9 (with system restore). Then it happened again as it was included with an Office update, so I called MS tech support, 1-800-642-7676 and after much work with a level 2 tech it was fixed (for free). The tech determined that IE9 was corrupt and breaking the IE10 install. Good luck. WB59

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •