Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20
  1. #1
    Lounger PEYTON PLACE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    SANTA BARBARA CO. CA
    Posts
    45
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Password macro for Firefox and Yahoo?

    Would someone pleas help me in grasping the "Big Picture" to learn how to create (if feasible) a macro, or a hotkey instruction,, so I can log ointo Yahoo Mail without having to open a password list, copy the password, close the list document, return to the logon page, and paste the P/W into the P/W box?

    Sometime in the recent past Yahoo Mail dropped the "remember my P/W" option. II need to access my maikbox often, it seems unnecessarily tedious to go through those motions. I suspect that a hot key solution should be possible.

    Thanks to any and all who could help, Rich-

    <|>
    "IF I CAN'T FIX IT, IT AIN'T BROKE!"

  2. #2
    5 Star Lounger access-mdb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Oxfordshire, UK
    Posts
    621
    Thanks
    55
    Thanked 46 Times in 43 Posts
    Try LastPass or a similar password storage facility. I like LastPass and I only have one password to remember. Other respondents may have other suggestions.

    Note that any of these would be more secure than a password list...

  3. #3
    Lounger PEYTON PLACE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    SANTA BARBARA CO. CA
    Posts
    45
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Thanks. I got LastPass and it seems to be working OK.

    Still, Yahoo Mail has no "Remember my Password" function BUT... I discovered accidentally that in any current Firefox session I can "back door" into it by clicking on a previously visted Inbox in "History".

    Really secure, eh? I don't care, no one else touches my computer, and the spooks have already been there!

    That must be a booooring job if they're reading email such as mine. Yawn...
    "IF I CAN'T FIX IT, IT AIN'T BROKE!"

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger access-mdb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Oxfordshire, UK
    Posts
    621
    Thanks
    55
    Thanked 46 Times in 43 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by PEYTON PLACE View Post
    BUT... I discovered accidentally that in any current Firefox session I can "back door" into it by clicking on a previously visted Inbox in "History".
    .
    That's because you hadn't logged out of Yahoo. This won't work if you have logged out, it just asks for the username/password. With LastPass clicking on the Yahoo name will at the least fill in your details or will log you in automatically (depends on how you've set it up). I've numerous sites entered in LastPass, all with different passwords, and don't have to remember them - just the Lastpass one. And if your sure that no one else can use your PC, you can leave LP logged in (although I don't, you never know).

  5. #5
    New Lounger alison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Delaware
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Try RoboForm - it's freeware , and it can make your life much easier if you deal not only with passwords.

  6. #6
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,840
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 253 Times in 238 Posts
    RoboForm is not freeware, it has a restricted trial version which is no good for anything except a quick test - IMHO.

    cheers, Paul

  7. #7
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    6,495
    Thanks
    212
    Thanked 852 Times in 784 Posts
    Paul,

    That may not be entirely correct. This is directly from the RoboForm website.
    EXCEPTION FOR NON-PROFIT CUSTOMERS.
    Non-Profit Customers (but not other Customers) are allowed
    to use RoboForm for free after the 30-day Trial Period ends,
    if Customer has less than 10 Logins (Passcards) in RoboForm.

    Non-Profit Customer is defined as a customer who uses RoboForm
    in non-commercial environment for non-profit activity.
    All Customers who use RoboForm in a business, government,
    military, or religious institution are not Non-Profit Customers
    for the purposes of this agreement. Customers that are students
    of accredited universities and high schools are classified as
    Non-profit Customers even if a school or university is owned
    and operated by a government.
    That would seem to include personal non-business home use although with the 10 password limit. HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    VBA Rules!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs


  8. #8
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,840
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 253 Times in 238 Posts
    A 10 password limit is useless in the real world - as I'm sure you are aware.

    cheers, Paul

  9. #9
    Lounger PEYTON PLACE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    SANTA BARBARA CO. CA
    Posts
    45
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Thanks, thanks!

    So, what does Roboform do beyond passwords?

    Regards, PP-
    "IF I CAN'T FIX IT, IT AIN'T BROKE!"

  10. #10
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,840
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 253 Times in 238 Posts
    Nothing. Roboform is one of many secure password databases. The nice thing about Roboform is it will automatically fill in web forms for you, but there are also free alternatives (search the forum for "password manager").

    cheers, Paul

  11. The Following User Says Thank You to Paul T For This Useful Post:

    PEYTON PLACE (2013-09-09)

  12. #11
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    5,004
    Thanks
    71
    Thanked 574 Times in 520 Posts
    Robobform will also allow you to set up multiple identities and fill in on line forms based on those identities. Handy when you want to supply phony telephone numbers or throwaway Email addresses on sites that require those fields that you don't trust.

    Jerry

  13. #12
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,840
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 253 Times in 238 Posts
    I always supply phony information - I am actually William Gates esq.

    cheers, Paul

  14. #13
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    6,495
    Thanks
    212
    Thanked 852 Times in 784 Posts
    Hey Y'all,

    RoboForm also allows the creation of SafeNotes that are also encrypted.
    I keep all my software keys, SSN's, Account Numbers (Offline Accounts: Credit Cards, Bank Accts., Investment Accounts), etc. in SafeNotes.
    I also use the Print Function to keep a hard copy of everything in my safe. HTH :Cheers:
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    VBA Rules!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs


  15. #14
    Lounger PEYTON PLACE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    SANTA BARBARA CO. CA
    Posts
    45
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul T View Post
    I always supply phony information - I am actually William Gates esq.

    cheers, Paul
    Esquire, Master William?

    NO 1 U NO
    >
    Or fifteen years ago, I was: John_Smith@company.com (Netscape)

    It's OK, I'm cleared for DOUBLE-SECRET RIDICULOUS

    "If I told you, you would have to shoot me"
    "IF I CAN'T FIX IT, IT AIN'T BROKE!"

  16. #15
    Lounger PEYTON PLACE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    SANTA BARBARA CO. CA
    Posts
    45
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    But seriously, Folks...

    Thanks again to all respondents. I've been a subscriber to Windows Secrets for several years, but only a few months on the forum. But in that short time I've gotten good advice whenever I ask a question.

    The LastPass app is working fine except for the pesky Yahoo.

    What would be a solution is an app thaat allows multiple clipboards. If I could paste in my password there with a hotkey, all would be well.

    Regards, PP-
    "IF I CAN'T FIX IT, IT AIN'T BROKE!"

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •