Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger Jagworld's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    467
    Thanks
    79
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Does this MB support USB 3 ?

    Intel DK38BT Version AAD85848-503

    ? or how do I check to see ?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,436
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Jag,

    I searched on the Intel site and don't get any hits. Is this a Desktop or Laptop board?
    Google also doesn't return anything useful. Sure you got the numbers righe?
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  3. #3
    Super Moderator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    4,490
    Thanks
    284
    Thanked 577 Times in 480 Posts
    Intel Ark is the place for Intel product specs: http://ark.intel.com/products/50384/...p-Board-DX38BT, looks like an older 'board, USB 2.0 only.

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to satrow For This Useful Post:

    Jagworld (2013-09-08)

  5. #4
    4 Star Lounger Jagworld's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    467
    Thanks
    79
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Nice link satrow, bummer about usb3---- wow!!

  6. #5
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    2,335
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 267 Times in 260 Posts
    Of course it's easy to add for about $15 these days as long as there's a free PCIe port.
    Sent from Windows ME thru Opera 10.63...just before they crashe

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to F.U.N. downtown For This Useful Post:

    Jagworld (2013-09-08)

  8. #6
    4 Star Lounger Jagworld's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    467
    Thanks
    79
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Good!!

    I have a PCIE x16 slot available.

  9. #7
    Bronze Lounger DrWho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    1,501
    Thanks
    30
    Thanked 205 Times in 163 Posts
    And I do have one of those USB 3.0 PCI cards installed.
    Besides adding four more USB ports to the PC, it DOES allow me to use the new USB 3 Flash drives and external HD's for my daily backups. And, that leaves two more USB 3.0 ports, for general mischief.

    USB 3.0, sure is FAST!

    Oh, and I also bought a SATA III controller card. That's fast too!!!

    You don't have to buy a new computer, just to be 'State of the Art'.
    Just drop a few pesos and get what you need.

    I built my PC, in ~2005 and I've been updating it ever since.
    Today, it surpasses some of the new PC's coming out of the stores.

    Cheers mates!
    The Doctor
    Last edited by DrWho; 2013-09-16 at 20:43.
    Experience is truly the best teacher.

    Backup! Backup! Backup! GHOST Rocks!

  10. #8
    WS Lounge VIP mrjimphelps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,405
    Thanks
    447
    Thanked 404 Times in 376 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DrWho View Post
    You don't have to buy a new computer, just to be 'State of the Art'.
    A long time ago, PC/Computing Magazine (remember them?) ran an article of an original IBM PC that they souped up as much as it could be souped up. It was a really mean machine for its day!

  11. #9
    Bronze Lounger DrWho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    1,501
    Thanks
    30
    Thanked 205 Times in 163 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mrjimphelps View Post
    A long time ago, PC/Computing Magazine (remember them?) ran an article of an original IBM PC that they souped up as much as it could be souped up. It was a really mean machine for its day!

    I even did the same thing, by re-writing the Kernel for the Commodore 64 computer.

    Later, I did something similar on my IBM XT-Clone, by tweaking the BIOS and changing to a faster CPU.

    I've always been one to get the very best I could out of my Computers, Cars, Motor Cycles, etc.

    But with my own PC that I built in 2005, I can run any OS, fast and effective up to and including Windows 8.1.
    I've added a four-port USB 3.0 card, a much better Video Card, a SATA III controller card and a state of the art sound card. Yeah, it's full! But, what a computer! It scats like a scalded cat!

    The Doctor
    Experience is truly the best teacher.

    Backup! Backup! Backup! GHOST Rocks!

  12. #10
    4 Star Lounger Jagworld's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    467
    Thanks
    79
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Over-clocking Huh !!

  13. #11
    Bronze Lounger DrWho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    1,501
    Thanks
    30
    Thanked 205 Times in 163 Posts

    Cool

    Over clocking is like putting Nitros on your family car....a good way to blow it sky high.

    NO, my opinion is, "Buy what you want, don't try to Overclock to get it."

    Every CPU chip was labeled to run at a certain speed, to run cool and reliable.

    My AMD, 2x, 5200+ cpu has been running perfect for 8 years now, with never a fault.
    And it's still running cool with the OEM CPU Cooler.
    Once a year, I take that heatsink and fan out, and wash the heatsink and re-oil the fan.

    I wouldn't want to screw around with that kind of success.

    OH, by the way, somewhere on this Forum, I posted by own Web Site address.
    Through no fault of my own and due to things beyond my control, that site is Down and will probably stay down. I'm really sorry about that!


    Cheers Mates!
    The Doctor
    Experience is truly the best teacher.

    Backup! Backup! Backup! GHOST Rocks!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •