Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Windows Mail?

  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    129
    Thanks
    30
    Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts

    Windows Mail?

    I am chasing a problem in another thread so I started this one separate.

    This is weird or maybe this is normal. I just checked my other Windows 7 machines and my moms computer by using the AutoRun program; they all show Windows Mail under the "Logon" tab and both of us and all my other machines do not use Windows Mail. Some of my machines do not even use a program to get e-mails. Is this a Windows 7 bug or is this normal?

    And what should I do; should I disable and delete the two Windows Mail entries in the AutoRun logon tab or is there a way in Windows to get rid of them?
    "Every Thing Changes but Change Itself"

    [Core I7 6700][Asus Maximus VIII Hero][8GB G.Skill memory][Asus GTX 980Ti Strix][1 x 512GB Samsung 950 Pro][850W Seasonic PSU][Antec 900][Windows 10 Professional, 64-bit][2 x Asus PG278Q]

    [Core I5 2500k][Asus P8P67 Pro (ver 3.1)][8GB Corsair memory][Asus ENGT430][1 x 90GB Corsair GT SSD][650W Corsair PSU][Thermaltake DH-202][Windows 7 Home, 64-bit][65" Panasonic Plasma T.V.]

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    There are folder for Win Mil in a Win 7 OS. Are you sure it's Win Mail. not Win Live Mail? Win Mail was the default Vista mail client, Win live Mail is the default Win 7 mail client.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to Medico For This Useful Post:

    swatbat2142 (2013-09-13)

  4. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    129
    Thanks
    30
    Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
    Here is what AutoRun says.

    Capture.JPG

    I took a look at those locations and the folders are like what AutoRun says. But when I look inside those folders, those programs are not in there. There are other files, but definitely not those two.

    I also checked this with my other systems; including the ones that have no e-mail and they are the same way. No file as mentioned in AutoRun, but the folder exists with other files in it.

    If this helps, all these systems were loaded with Windows 7 DVD discs that I bought so they are not like Dell's, Acer, HP, etc. These were built by me and then loaded with the Windows 7 disc for each one by me.
    Last edited by swatbat2142; 2013-09-12 at 13:20. Reason: More details
    "Every Thing Changes but Change Itself"

    [Core I7 6700][Asus Maximus VIII Hero][8GB G.Skill memory][Asus GTX 980Ti Strix][1 x 512GB Samsung 950 Pro][850W Seasonic PSU][Antec 900][Windows 10 Professional, 64-bit][2 x Asus PG278Q]

    [Core I5 2500k][Asus P8P67 Pro (ver 3.1)][8GB Corsair memory][Asus ENGT430][1 x 90GB Corsair GT SSD][650W Corsair PSU][Thermaltake DH-202][Windows 7 Home, 64-bit][65" Panasonic Plasma T.V.]

  5. #4
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    I would think that both the WinMail entries could be deleted, but if you wish to check for problems, try to temp. disable them through msconfig.exe or using What's In Startup (neat little app that also shows startup items). I do not see the disable option in my Autoruns.

    If nothing untoward happens when you disable the 2 entries, then go ahead and delete them.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to Medico For This Useful Post:

    swatbat2142 (2013-09-13)

  7. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    129
    Thanks
    30
    Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
    So here is what I see. In What's In Startup I see only two entries, the Comodo and the Avira; but no Windows Mail. If I use AutoRun they appear as you saw in the pic. I guess I can uncheck them in AutoRun to disable them and then run with it for a while. If after some time I can delete the entry at a later time?
    "Every Thing Changes but Change Itself"

    [Core I7 6700][Asus Maximus VIII Hero][8GB G.Skill memory][Asus GTX 980Ti Strix][1 x 512GB Samsung 950 Pro][850W Seasonic PSU][Antec 900][Windows 10 Professional, 64-bit][2 x Asus PG278Q]

    [Core I5 2500k][Asus P8P67 Pro (ver 3.1)][8GB Corsair memory][Asus ENGT430][1 x 90GB Corsair GT SSD][650W Corsair PSU][Thermaltake DH-202][Windows 7 Home, 64-bit][65" Panasonic Plasma T.V.]

  8. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,571
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,056 Times in 925 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Medico View Post
    I do not see the disable option in my Autoruns.
    @Ted,
    In Autoruns clearing the checkbox is the disable option.

    Joe

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to JoeP517 For This Useful Post:

    swatbat2142 (2013-09-13)

  10. #7
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    129
    Thanks
    30
    Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
    Been a day now with both entries "unchecked" and nothing I can notice. I'll run it for a few days (or weeks) and if nothing else, then I will delete them. Just weird that they are on so many systems; like Windows Mail is automatically entered without your knowledge.
    "Every Thing Changes but Change Itself"

    [Core I7 6700][Asus Maximus VIII Hero][8GB G.Skill memory][Asus GTX 980Ti Strix][1 x 512GB Samsung 950 Pro][850W Seasonic PSU][Antec 900][Windows 10 Professional, 64-bit][2 x Asus PG278Q]

    [Core I5 2500k][Asus P8P67 Pro (ver 3.1)][8GB Corsair memory][Asus ENGT430][1 x 90GB Corsair GT SSD][650W Corsair PSU][Thermaltake DH-202][Windows 7 Home, 64-bit][65" Panasonic Plasma T.V.]

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •