New Lounger
    Thanks

Conditional report sections

Note: Sep. 17 2013: I have since learned this post should be entitled, "How to Stack Multiple Subreports in Main Report"

First off, I am new to access and this forum, so thanks in advance for your guidance. I may fall short in terms on not always using the appropriate terminology. I have come to MS Access as a means to streamlining operations at my work by automating some tedious yet important tasks. I have created a database with multiple linked tables and simple reports based on that.

The Scenario

I would like to design templates for different sections of a report. When it comes time to run the report not all sections will be included. I work for and IT services provider, so the different sections will correspond to different configuration items such as workstations, servers, various network devices, ISP information, On-premise Exchange, etc.

Not all the sections will be needed for a particular report. For instance, a client may use Hosted Exchange rather than On-premise Exchange, and I'd like to layout the info in the report for each in a different way.

Is this possible? Or is there a better way to reach this same end?

Thanks in advance for your help!
    Last edited by Operator; 2013-09-17 at 21:37.

New Lounger
    Thanks
    I've been informed by theDBguy on another forum to lookup subreports. I'll update the post if this does trick...

New Lounger
    Thanks
    Subreports don't appear to be the answer. It may help to ask my question differently, is there a way to combine multiple, and independent, reports (only the ones that are applicable) into one single report? And to programmatically select which reports to run based on the data?

In the mean time I'll go ahead and create the reports separately and worry about refinements later.

Thanks!

Star Lounger
    Thanks
    What's wrong with setting a flag the report checks at 'on open' do a cancel=true

New Lounger
    Thanks